Poptun to Rio Dulce - Central America - CycleBlaze

December 22, 2022

Poptun to Rio Dulce

The rain woke me up this morning, so I ended up sticking around late and finishing yesterday's journal (since I was too tired last night and went to bed early.   Today was more of the same really, as far as scenery goes.  No big events.  

Between Belize and the first couple of stays in Guatemala, I kept hearing the Monkeys in the jungle, but I haven't heard them for a while now.  That is a really good thing, as those sounds were scary.  Like alligator noises.

Rio Dulce is a neat little town that.  The main street that CA13 goes through is lined with vendors right on the street.  The vehicles go so along here that it holds up traffic, and then horns and pandemonium ensue.   I was picking some apples and semi trailers were literally less than 3ft. away from my backside.  Then of course, when the big trucks stop, motorcycles and bikes try to weave in between the traffic and shoppers.  It is the craziest thing I have seen yet as far as a crowded sopping experience goes!

I would not mind staying in Rio Dulce another day and do some water sports, in fact I had planned to, but there is a huge storm coming that I have been tracking that is going to last for days and I am trying to outrun it.   If I can make it about 95 miles tomorrow, I think I'll be in the clear, or even if I have to hold up in a hotel, Zapata will be a better place for that I think.   We'll see how far I get tomorrow.  The rain is coming to Rio Dulce tomorrow, so I will be literally trying to outrun it during the day tomorrow.  I probably won't have a port tomorrow regardless just due to trying to get as far as I can.  Wish me luck!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lunch. This is the first red meat I have had in a long time, and it was super hard and tough, so I didn't have much. But the tortillas and rice and salad was good. Sometimes these lunch places are gems, and sometimes not (like today). Its all good though - all part of the experience!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had lunch next to the check station filled with Guatemalan militia. I asked if I could get a picture of them and they agreed!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
These towns just pop up out of nowhere and sometimes they are really crowded (vendors and pedestrians and such).
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A really nice hotel tonight - Don Paco, off the busy street somewhat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hey, a regular shower again!
Heart 0 Comment 0
They have a really pretty courtyard and outside area. I didn't realize, but they have a 5-star rating on Google (but only 6 reviews). I'll second that actually. All for about $38. They have a restaurant here too that I'm going to head out to in a couple minutes as soon as I'm done with this post.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Where I got a couple plums, apples, and bananas.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
And there's not a lot of people walking by right then either - normally it is like ants in both directions on both sides of the street!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 598 miles (962 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0