Orange Walk Town to Belmopan, Belize - Central America - CycleBlaze

December 17, 2022

Orange Walk Town to Belmopan, Belize

Not much of a post today.  No cool activities really, just a travelling day to get some miles behind me.  I did get caught in my first rainstorm today though.  

It is so unimaginably hot here - 88 today, but with the humidity, it probably felt like 95-100 degrees.  Then, add to that a unbreathable rain outfit.  Think a firefighter riding 88 miles on a bike in AZ.  I am drinking between a gallon and a gallon and a half each day.  Today was at least a gallon and a half.

The roads here are much worse than on MX 307, my new favorite cycling stretch in the whole world.  No shoulder markings, no shoulder space even.  Very rough.  Lots of gravel and loose rock.  But all the people on the sides of the road are extremely friendly and shout out to me - in English!

No video today.

A Belizean sunrise!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
More random pics along the roadside
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sometimes these are a bit blurry as I am taking them as I am riding.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think that was a turkey, trying to make a little hole to sit in.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A retired professional cyclist maybe?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another roadside eatery.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had two of these things called "Fryjacks". Like empanadas maybe. Pastry filled with meat, cheese, onions, spices. Delicious! $1 USD ea.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The first of two times I donned up with rain gear (not looking too happy). This first time, I was pretty wet already, and hen of course got much more wet with sweat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of many egrets here
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's the flight of stairs to make up to my second floor room
Heart 0 Comment 0
These next few pics are from my my hotel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
A turtle!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hey my room even has a balcony!
Heart 0 Comment 0
...with a view of...
Heart 0 Comment 0
...not very much.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Check out that shower valve!
Heart 0 Comment 0

 

Today's ride: 88 miles (142 km)
Total: 380 miles (612 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0