Melchor De Menco to El Remate, Guatemala - Central America - CycleBlaze

December 19, 2022

Melchor De Menco to El Remate, Guatemala

I could not get out of my Hotel El Viajero early enough this morning.  After my post last night, I saw ant trails everywhere, to add to all the other great amenities.  But they were super small, so I was not too concerned about them.  Oh and the door lock didn't work either.  But I had to wait long enough for it to get light enough for me to see my way down the super steep stairs.  And apparently, for the owner to come out to unlock the gate for me.  Isn't that a fire hazard?

Today started getting into the hills now, which provided better scenes, but of course the legs don't like them.  There were lots of little villages, like western Belize, and lots of roadside snack huts and stands.   

I had to stop at one as I saw another cycling tourist.  His name was Helmut (hel-moot) from Austria.  Like Eric yesterday, he is truly inspirational.  He has been all over the world - the longest single trip was from home to Indonesia, about 15,000 km!  He is 58, and works as a cyclist food deliverer in Austria.  His goal is to make it to Lake Atitlan in Nicaragua (I will be going right by there too) and then climb the volcano and hang glide off from there.  Wow - what a huge dream!  When I asked him and Eric yesterday for their best recommendation for me from all their travels, Helmut recommended Pakistan, and Eric recommended Cuba.  None of those are on my bucket list.  Hmmmmmmm.

There are a bunch of hotels right at the east end of Lake Peten Itza.  My hotel is one of the nicest ones in the area!  But really, there is not much else to do in this little village.  Just a close stopping point to visit Tikal tomorrow.  I have a 5:30am shuttle there and back for $10 - about 2o miles each way).  It will be nice to give my butt a break for a day!

The following are random Guatemalan scenery pics taken on my rider today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
That is a much steeper hill than it looks
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had to stop for a "pig crossing" across the road
Heart 0 Comment 0
She had crossed the street right in front of me - carrying that bucket on her head!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Much of the main highway had turned to this.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Helmut from Austria, and his hang glider. 80 pounds on that bike! He spoke real good English, but admitted he did not know any Spanish. Makes me feel better!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A cemetery
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The lake across from my Hotel, Las Gardenias.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some scenes from my $28 USD hotel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I enjoyed a great veggie burger for lunch at their restaurant, which was on the 2nd floor, overlooking the big lake Peten Itza across the street.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I always hate it when giant leaves keep me from getting into my panniers!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The stairs leading up to my room. It looked like truly paradise.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Two beds are always nice when there's no table and chairs to lay our all my stuff.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hey a regular shower again!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 458 miles (737 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesThe lock you in overnight seems to be a Mexican/Central American thing. Of course it is a fire hazard, nut no one seems to care.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago