Granada, Nicaragua - kayaking and Masaya Volcano - Central America - CycleBlaze

January 7, 2023

Granada, Nicaragua - kayaking and Masaya Volcano

Granada just oozes with culture. It doesn't try to be anything or anybody else, just it's natural historic self. But as a result, is very touristy - with lots of bars and restaurants still.  

I started the day with a nice breakfast from my hotel, and then just walked around a bit, took some pictures, then went down to the waterfront looking for potential paddleboard or kayaking. It was pretty windy today also, and the big Lago Cocibolca was pretty choppy, so I figured my chances of doing either were slim to none. But then an activity hustler told me that kayaking around the islands is not choppy there at. He seemed sincere enough, so I took him up on it, and sure enough kayaking through the islands was very smooth indeed! I didn't go far though, but it was just paradise to sit in there and relax a bit - not paddling much, and take some pictures. Then had lunch along the way back at a restaurant along the waterfront listening to music and just watched everybody and their families have fun in the water.  Back to the hotel to get cleaned up, then off to the Masaya volcano tour.

The Masaya volcano was super cool!  There was a ton of people there, so it was hard to get a real good shot, but it was just neat to be so close to bubbling lava.  You could actually hear it - like surf hitting the shore kind-of.  We were far enough away though that you could not really feel the heat.  Its a good thing though, as the sulfur gas would not be good to breath in at that concentration anyway.

You know, one of the reasons that makes this hotel room so nice is that it has five electric plug outlets! I know, you wouldn't think that would be a significant variable, but many rooms I have stayed at have only one, which is where the TV is plugged in. I suspect it has something to do with the fact that these rooms and walls are made all of concrete. Still, I have yet to stay in a single hotel room here that gives you hand lotion. So strange when it is so common in the states. Sometimes even mouthwash and a hair cover too in the states. Although I suspect the hundred dollar and up hotels down here have that, and so far the hotel that I'm staying in now has been the most expensive at $65 a night.

 

Breakfast at my hotel this morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside the big Cathedral
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were a lot of these mosaics in the main plaza area. I didn't take pictures of them all.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heading out kayaking!
Heart 0 Comment 0
There are just hundreds of little islands next to Granada to kayak in
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I heard a monkey too and tried to get close, but never saw him
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Walking along the waterfront on the way back from kayaking
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A "food park". Kind-of like food trucks I suppose.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the way to Masaya Volcano - in the hard rain!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The rain didn't last long though
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look at all those bricks! So many roads in Nicaragua are made like this. Just millions of brincks!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I actually took this picture yesterday on my bike as I was flying by it. We took the same path back today in a LandCruiser, but could not get a good picture of the sign, so I'm glad I got it yesterday!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The lava was incredible!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
By the time I got close enough to it, it was too dark to get a good selfie.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0