Casco Viejo to Panama City - Central America - CycleBlaze

February 2, 2023

Casco Viejo to Panama City

Today is officially the final day of riding in the tour.  Now, its a matter of breaking everything down and packing.

I fell ill yesterday with something, for only the second time this trip (the first time was when I held up in Zacapa, Guatemala, waiting out a storm).  I was in bed for a solid 12 hrs last night, although did not sleep that whole time though.  I guess I should feel lucky that this did not happen more often, or on days where I had long rides.  I think all the prayers and thoughts of my family and you all must have paid off – thank you!  In fact, as I look back it is truly a blessing that I made it through all that I did really.  So many things could have gone sideways.  And sometimes it did, but you just work through them.   Anyway, more on thoughts and insights from this trip tomorrow or Saturday. 

 Today I thought I’d share the costs for this trip, for those wondering and debating a tour such as this.  I’ll break it down into several categories, as some people may spend more or less on certain things like accommodations and alcohol:

  • Accommodations: Avg $50/day x 56 days = $2,800
  • Food, incl tips: Avg $18/day = 1,008
  • Alcohol: $100
  • Activities/fun things = $800
  • Gasoline, parking, car maintenance = $0
  • Bike maintenance (new chain, spare tire that I never ended up needing) = $35
  • Taxis = $200
  • Flights with add for oversized bike box each way = $1,000 (made about 6 months in advance)
  • Travel insurance = $350
  • Misc: = $250

Total for an 8 week trip and memories of a lifetime (but you have to work at it and be uncomfortable sometimes) = $6,643 (not including bike and accessories, clothing, etc.). 

I’m not sure you could get much cheaper on the accommodations, but maybe if you like to camp more.  I did that twice only for less than $10/night with shower and wifi.  I would have probably done that more if I can sleep better and it was not so hot out.  Feel free to shoot me any questions if you are planning something like this!

Not a lot of pics today – didn’t really go anywhere new.  My hotel is nice - I thought it might be noisy but I'm up on he 8th floor, so not a lot of traffic noise.  Wall-to-wall curtains that are electronically controlled - fancy!  

I’ll have some tips and hacks from the tour tomorrow!

Some pics from the waterfront between Casco Viejo and downtown
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wow - what a view! Electrically-controlled curtains.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 4 miles (6 km)
Total: 2,090 miles (3,364 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0