Beaches and camping - Nicoya Peninsula, Costa Rica - Central America - CycleBlaze

January 11, 2023

Beaches and camping - Nicoya Peninsula, Costa Rica

Based on talking to people on the sailboat yesterday, and doing some more research online, I wanted to stop off at a couple of other beaches today on my way to my destination tonight to compare to Cocoa Beach. I really liked the vibe at Coco Beach though, but still wanted something to compare it against since that was my first beach only.  And Cochela and Tamarindo Beaches were supposed to be two of the top rated beaches in Costa Rica and were on my way - just a few mile dogleg out to each one from the road. I did not realize however, that Cochela was dirt for the last 3 miles or so. It is supposed to be famous for being the only pink sand beach in Costa Rica. It gets its color from little small pieces of ground up shells. Although, I didn't see it as being pink. Maybe it was just the sun or today, or maybe I wasn't even at the right beach. I don't know. I followed Google's directions, but I never saw any signs at the beach itself as to what the name of it was. After all that dirt road though, I was not about to explore anymore. It was really hard to get to and just one little hut with smoothies and snacks there, no hotels of any kind anywhere near.  So then I was off to Tamarindo beach. That is a huge beach!  Newer huge and nice hotels everywhere too, even a Best Western.  It also has a much younger vibe to it. Just tons of people on the beach. And really crowded to get to. There were lots of golf carts at Coco beach, and lots of Razors at Tamarindo.  I don't think these hotels at Tamarindo are the type to have bingo, like my last one, so that describes the big differences I suppose.  Both beaches would make for a very pretty sunset pictures I'm sure, but I had to get onto my final destination, which was Junquilal Beach. 

I took some shortcuts from the main road to make it more of a straight line to my destination. I saved a lot of kilometers, but there were a lot of dirt roads and steep hills as a result. I probably rode a total of about 20 km today on dirt roads, but they were not bad.  Although I almost fell over from some thick sand in a rut - I don't know how I recovered out of that one still, the grace of God I suppose.  The hills were insane though! Apparently, the Costa Rican department of transportation goes by the fact that the shortest distance between two points is straight uphill and straight downhill. Not too high, fortunately, but just super steep. So I had my first dirt roads of the trip today as well as the steepest inclines. 

There were actually a few spots to camp at before I got to my planned destination, which I checked out as I went by, but went on to my planned spot because they had higher ratings, and supposedly, showers. Although, when I arrived, they said the utility department was doing some work, and the water was shut down, but after I had put up my tent and got ready for a shower, the water pressure was back, so no big deal.  What a lovely place here. Palm trees and just a very secluded beach, just steps away from my campsite. I love it! All for 4,000 Colones - about $6.  Wow - I'm actually camping on a beach in Costa Rica!  It all just seems so surreal!  Less than five weeks ago I was dealing with snow and freezing conditions in the Pacific Northwest!  And now I'm experiencing life as a local in Central America, but complaining still because it is too warm.  No big dinner anywhere close to me tonight, but I've got plenty with me. I think it'll be an apple, peanut butter, tortilla, and some, granola and soy milk, since I stopped for a big pizza lunch earlier in the day by Tamarindo beach.  There are about a dozen other campers here, mostly tents, and one tent on top of a 4x4.  There is an RV right next to me and it looks like he has been here a month or more, as he has a swing set up in a nearby tree.  We introduced ourselves; he is from Germany.  I asked him how long he has been in Costa Rica and he said 24 years!  He didn't even look much older than 40 or so.  I'm not sure how long he has been at this particular campsite with his RV, but for $6 per night (maybe more for an RV though), good for him to live his life cheap by the beach!

Tomorrow is supposed to be an area of crazy-expensive hotels again, too, so, if I have a good night and don't sweat too much, I might try to camp again!  I asked the host girl if there were any animals around, and she said mainly racoons, skunks, monkeys, and armadillos.  The German fellow next to me though has two dogs so I'm not too worried about animals.  Bike camping is one of those things that sometimes maybe isn't the most enjoyable while you are doing it, but the pictures and memories are so great to re-live always.  But so far, this camping spot is real nice, with the shower, and they even let me you the plug on their porch so I don't drain my battery too much on this post.  Although, there are bugs everywhere so I may go inside my tent to finish the pictures and captions.

Scenes from beach hopping from Coco Beach this morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
A gigantic stump
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The dirt road to Cochela Beach
Heart 1 Comment 0
Of course they would have this type of hotel and restaurant in Costa Rica! Sorry for the thumb.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Absolutely no consideration for cyclists at all when making these roads. I don't even know how you'd change a tire in most places either. Costa Rica is in last place unfortunately for bike-friendly roads.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cochela beach - not pink though
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cochela beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cochela beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cochela beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
My kind of nachos! Seen at Tamarindo Beach.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tamarindo Beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tamarindo Beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lunch!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some of the dirt roads from Tamarindo Beach to my final destination. With this much dust on the plants, I don't think I need to worry about it raining for a while!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another weird tree trunk
Heart 0 Comment 0
More dirt road getting close to my destination. There were crazy expensive hotels around here too - all on a dirt road. First time I've seen that.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oh boy - water crossing. I have a video of this that I'll try to post soon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My campsite!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
What else do you need?
Heart 0 Comment 0
My bathroom and shower! Can't knock the location and view!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dusty face!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Getting ready to take a shower to wash off all the dirt!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beach scenes follow - just a few steps from my campsite
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My campsite is right behind that palm tree
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 miles (121 km)
Total: 1,306 miles (2,102 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0