Aposentillo to Leon, Nicaragua - Central America - CycleBlaze

January 4, 2023

Aposentillo to Leon, Nicaragua

Willie Nelson once sang; "Some days are diamonds, and somedays are stones".  Christmas and New Year's eve were down right crap, and some places - with their ants, being electrocuted in the shower, the noise, and a whole host of other issues.  But today was another amazing rare gem.  And what's more is you never know what kind of day its going to be, which further makes it more exciting to start every day!  With Guatemala and El Salvador in the rear view mirror now, where the US State department issues travel warnings of "consider travel elsewhere" for those two countries (worst of all the countries I am visiting), and supposedly the worst drivers in Guatemala behind me (though I had nothing but good experiences there), and good weather from here on out (rainy season is long behind me now), I am feeling optimistic about the future now!  Only two more border crossings to go now too (four down)!  I am in areas and have planned for town stops that have some nicer hotels now too.

Yesterday was such an absolute blessing of a hotel - out in the middle of nowhere.  I was a bit skeptical, but it turned out to be just magical.  Today's hotel turned out to be a real gemstone as well!  Hotel Austria - in Leon.  I guess they make some attempt to make it Austrian - they have a fridge in the lobby where hey can sell you Austrian beer.  I try to find hotels off the main road because of vehicle noise as well as bars, but sometimes that makes it hard to find food though.  Hotel Leon is right in the heart of the city (Booking rating of 9.8 for location), but yet I got a room way in the back, away from the street, which seems to be rare with me.  Hot water (two valves) in the shower, TV, and air conditioning.  And steps away from plenty of restaurants and a grocery store.  And sightseeing!  Leon is home to the largest cathedral in Central America (see pics below), and it is only a couple minute walk from my hotel.

I am really getting to like these outdoor markets and all the street vendors, especially the ones that sell meat and fish right out in the open with no refrigeration.  I'm going to really miss that when I go back home.  I feel like I am fitting in with the locals when walking though here, even though I know I stand out with my big goofy hat (but I love the sun protection it provides - so who cares), and the fact that I can't respond well in Spanish or even know what people are shouting at me as I walk by.  But I still really like the whole experience.  

I went grocery shopping tonight at the best grocery store I have come across since Walmart in Cancun!  Don't get me wrong - it was still very far from a Safeway, but it had a lot more than anything I've seen yet, including both my favorite kinds of granola bars!  I  was so thrilled about that!  A guard stopped me saying I needed a mask, which I bought outside from a vendor for a quarter, then he sprayed my hands with hand sanitizer when I went back in.  First I saw of that on my whole trip.  Will have to make note of that while in Nicaragua.  Then after shopping, I got some fiesta nachos from a street vendor to have back at my hotel room while finishing up this journal entry.  I just feel so comfortable walking around at night on my own now - not the least bit scared or even anxious about what to do.  I dunno, I'm just starting to feel more normal and at home here in this simple life with such humble and grateful people than I do back home.  Where I get excited about seeing full grocery stores, instead of being disappointed because a Safeway does not have one particular item.  Maybe its just the novelty, but I am really getting used to it.

Some milestones today: 

  1. Just over halfway with total mileage (but not quite halfway with elevation yet).
  2. Not since Cancun have I been this far east, now I am headed further east than that.

Spending two nights here (I'm so glad its a nice hotel!).  Off for an extreme adventure activity tomorrow morning so be sure to tune in for that (hint: CNN puts this as their #2 crazy things to do in your lifetime!  Hint #2: you can only do this in Nicaragua and Chile).

From my hotel room this morning. That's really the sunrise, not just a picture.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And outside...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heading out
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
More road hazards again
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gotta transport your pigs somehow I suppose!
Heart 0 Comment 0
San Cristobal, the highest volcano in Nicaragua.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I like how the clouds make it look like it just erupted!
Heart 1 Comment 0
It just doesn't get a whole lot safer to cycle than this!
Heart 1 Comment 0
In Chinandega, along the way to Leon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Back on the road to Leon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look at how those people have to get out of their homes! I hope that concrete ramp does not slide off.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was a major freeway I was on, and yet you see horse-drawn carts still, and no one gets upset about it, that's just what they do here!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A real nice shopping center, coming into Leon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hey look, they do have am/pms!
Heart 0 Comment 0
And a Costco!
Heart 0 Comment 0
At my hotel in Leon, off a busy street downtown. That's pretty much the view from outside my door.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I thought this was funny - it was among the reading material in the lobby (where I'm from)!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sights in Leon follow
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Street vendors right next to the cathedral
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside the Cathedral
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sitting a saying a prayer for a moment, like a local.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
There's a little outdoor restaurant just on the right side of that large statue where I had lunch.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yum! Fish tacos, a mixed fruit drink (melon, sandia, guava, and oranges), and a margarita.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was so thirsty after a hot day!
Heart 0 Comment 0
An art exhibit for sale
Heart 0 Comment 0
After a shower, I went back out for grocery shopping and more night scenes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Like El Union, Leon has a family area downtown as well.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heaven - look at that selection of granola bars! I have not seen since Cancun!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fiesta nachos for dinner!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 1,009 miles (1,624 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0