Osawatomie to Iola - The woman who sat on the toilet too long (and other odd American tales) - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2014

Osawatomie to Iola

WELL, I admit the day could have been better. And for a while it was, especially when another café owner decided not to charge, this time for a gallon of apricot smoothie.

But then I set off along the Prairie Trail path, pronounced it unridable because of its soft gravel, and took to the road instead. I don't wish to prolong the memory. I rode for hours in open countryside, into a tree-bending wind under the sort of sun associated with building the pyramids.

I became seriously dehydrated, riding 50 metres and then walking 50. Someone gave me two bottles of flavoured water. They helped but that's all.

I reached Iola at 9pm, having lost five hours. It's something I never want to do again.

Every town deserves its own statue of Liberty
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 97 km (60 miles)
Total: 2,597 km (1,613 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0