DAY 16 - Rest of the Story - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2021

DAY 16 - Rest of the Story

Going Backwards
Heart 2 Comment 0

DAY 16 - let's start and the overnight and end in the morning....

Overnight wad spent at South Beach Campground on 101 south of Kahlock Lodge.   The place is amazing if you like the coastal smells, cool breezes, empty beaches and calm.  

I had a mindfuliness night sitting on the beach reading and watching the surg slowly work the shoreline down and down.  

The rumble of the surf can still be heard and it's 9:52 pm. .I had oatmeal and coffee with a side of jelly orange slices for din din.

Getting here today was pretty much flat and mostly beautiful and scenic.  As I said goodbye to Forks (which I really enjoyed - good food at The Place and coffee at the next door Expresso stand) I didn't know what to expect.  

A motorcycle couple I ate next to last night gave me the best Intel though.  Pretty much positive but for the dump trucks.

Encouragement
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heavy Rescue H21 roadside ready to haul.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The highway traffic was really good to me for over 20 plus miles.  Light traffic I was surprised.  Everyone, including the log trucks gave the Heavy Rescue HR 21 plenty of room. 

I stopped a couple times to capture images of the beautiful tree line and rivers - felt very comfy alongside the road.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was funny, though as I was leaving Forks a blue sign displayed a warning - No  Services Next 20 Miles. They meant it too.  

Anyway, I had a big breakfast in Forks so I was ready.  

En Route traffic light in the middle of no where...
Heart 3 Comment 0

Within 11 miles of my beautiful scenic overnight is where the dreaded dump trucks began making the route not so welcoming. 

The motorcycle couple warned me....  Construction workers were replacing a bridge and the dumps were *hauling* stone to the site - and they were in a hurry.

I had a couple close calls when the didn't move over at all.  No reason for it, I even tried giving them a peace sign as the approached - they didn't care.

As a Heavy  Rescue Operator I know how Portland safety is - I had my high viz on.

Views of shorelines are so inspiring
Heart 4 Comment 0

Well, that brings us back to South Beach and a outstanding night in Washington State.

Beach Lumber at Dudk
Heart 3 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerTo brandon spanglerThanks Brandon. I worked a couple images, I’ll see what looks good when I get home.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
I spent the night shooting images, a great night cap!
Heart 3 Comment 0

Goodnight everyone. Thank you for riding with this Heavy Rescue Operator on the tour south of the border!

David Bowie is playing. - My China Girl.  Life is great...

Be still take a moment to feel the happiness around you....
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 487 miles (784 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerIt really was. Leaving was tough I was so cozy in my tent.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago