Day 47 - Indiana Dunes to Etna Green - C2C - from Westport, Washington to Sandy Hook, New Jersey - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2016

Day 47 - Indiana Dunes to Etna Green

Sweetness. Indiana sweetness.
Got up at dawn - which is, of course, the bestest time to get up.

Packed up and rode out to Lake Michigan. Oh, my!
It is an ocean stretching out to the horizon.
Waves lapping the beach, tall dunes.
And no one there.

First View of Lake Michigan
Heart 2 Comment 0

I rode along the shore and took in the historic beach homes.
Century of Progress - glorious 1930s art deco architecture.
I met a woman walking her rescue dog. We connected instantly -
and simply talked about how wonderful the morning was.

Century of Progress Florida House
Heart 2 Comment 0

Then it was off to Michigan City. Poor Michigan City.
Industrial, port, minority, crumbling - with a shuttered mall.
Inland 15 miles is LaPorte. Charming LaPorte.
Residential, services, white - with a Victorian downtown.

Last View of Lake Michigan at Michigan City
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was already steamy by 10:30. Uh-oh.
But I kept on keepin' on to Walkerton.
Nice back roads, not too much traffic.
I spread all my stuff out in the grass to dry.
And spent a couple of hours in the library.

Beautiful Indiana Farmhouse
Heart 2 Comment 0
Should I Buy It?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then late afternoon it was back on the bike to Plymouth.
I grabbed a quick bite in town, but wanted to get in more miles.
With the heat and humidity, evening is the best riding time.
Morning is dripping wet. Mid-day is brutal.
Evening is soft and quiet.

The Old Lincoln Highway Again
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Old Lincoln Highway was calling my name, too.
Yes, it's true. I hear voices.
"John .... John .... Get back on your bicycle!"

Ahhhhhhhh!
Heart 3 Comment 0

And I was certainly glad I did.
Perfect riding. Golden light. Transported.
I got as far as the little town of Etna Green.
The clerk at the corner store called someone on the council.
And I had a place for the night at the town park.
Just as the full moon rose.

Full Moon Rising in Etna Green
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 69 miles (111 km)
Total: 2,592 miles (4,171 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0