Cleaning up after Hurricane Michael - Burgers and spacecraft - CycleBlaze

October 15, 2018 to November 2, 2018

Cleaning up after Hurricane Michael

(Note that, for statistical purposes (days / distances), I excluded this period from the journal)

After crossing the bridge into Panama City, I saw much more devastation. Nearly all the trees were blown over. Many houses were damaged. Most residents were without electricity.

A day or two later, while I was charging my phone at Starbucks, I was approached by Linda Ong, a TV journalist working for WKRN. She did both an on air and recorded inverview with me.

I spent most of the next two weeks volunteering with Habitat for Humanity. They build houses for low income families. Most of their funding comes from selling used furniture. I helped to reopen the store by cleaning up: Removing dead trees using a chainsaw, pruning scissors and a rake.

My campsite while I was helping the Salvation Army
Heart 0 Comment 0
This museum only looks damaged.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A power line being replaced
Heart 0 Comment 0
A drone was being tested for resupplying stranded victims. My straps held the payload in place.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A tree is being removed while it's hanging over a building
Heart 0 Comment 0
Before I started
Heart 0 Comment 0
20 hours later. The only tools I had were gloves.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An airplane pulled this banner across the sky. It says: " For roof repairs, phone 083-DISASTER."
Heart 0 Comment 0
Milo in America has regretfully no calories
Heart 0 Comment 0
Three weeks after the huricane, this metal sheet was still hanging on the wires.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Three weeks after the hurricane
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0