Day 55: Missoula to Sula, MT; Bandana Bicycle Bandit - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

August 25, 2015

Day 55: Missoula to Sula, MT; Bandana Bicycle Bandit

Missoula to Sula, MT
Heart 0 Comment 0

Notes:

1.) If you select the “Comment” link near the bottom of the page you can leave a message for me. I enjoy getting them.

2.) Climbing Today: 1,856 ft -- Total So Far; 129,721 ft

3.) Average Speed While Biking Today: 10.7 mph

4.) Mechanical Issues Today: none

5.) Miles Remaining to Canon City: about 984

6.) Miles Traveled to Date on This Half of the Journey: 1016

7.) Money Found Today: $0.15

8.) Total Money Found: $0.36 (Will I find enough to buy a cup of coffee?)

I was rolling at 5:30 am. I have to confess that it was a bit hard to leave the comfy and safe confines of the Townplace Suites and venture off into the unknown; but isn’t that the very definition of an adventure? I was leaving an hour before they even served breakfast, so I had an instant oatmeal and a “slider” roll with peanut butter in my room. Here’s the Townplace Suites in the dark as I depart;

The Townplace Suites Was a Nice Place For My Rest Day
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was rolling down Reserve Street, which is actually the highway 93 business loop. That would be challenging in most cities, but Missoula has installed bike lanes on their major roads.

Major Missoula Streets Have Bike Lanes
Heart 0 Comment 0

Unfortunately, it’s smoky in Missoula. I was hoping to escape the smoke by escaping Idaho, but no such luck.

It Was Smoky As I Left Missoula in the Early Morning
Heart 0 Comment 0

And the sign outside of Lolo reminds me that the fire danger is still very high, as though I needed a reminder.

The Fire Danger in Montana was Very High
Heart 0 Comment 0

I passed numerous log home manufacturers today, both near Missoula and for quite some distance away. And I saw many others in Idaho. Log homes are popular up here, here are a few manufacturers' yards;

I Passed At Least a Half-Dozen Log Home Manufacturers
Heart 0 Comment 0
A Crane Was Used to Help Manufacture Log Homes at This Dealer
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chainsaws in Use - Quiet!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I found a dime and a nickel today, although the nickel was barely recognizable as such. Maybe I will find enough for that cup of coffee after all!

Found Money!
Heart 0 Comment 0
And More Found Money!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I don’t really look for coins as I cycle along, it’s just that it’s sometimes easy to see them as you ride past. The sunrises aren’t as evident any more though, cause the smoke filters out the golden light and all you get is an orange ball.

Another Sunrise in Smoky Conditions
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had climbed to an elevation of 3,000 feet now, as evidenced by the city of Florence sign.

I'm Travelling Today Above 3,000 Feet Elevation
Heart 0 Comment 0

I would be climbing over the next few days and will spend most of my time over 5,000 feet. I’m in the high plains. Now here’s a real talented local artist;

Now That's an Interesting Paint Scheme For an RV; Want to Buy This One, Wife?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Actually, I like the polka dot theme for a motor home, but I’m sure the wife would disapprove. I didn’t know that Montana had wineries, but since everyone else does these days, why not?

I Didn't Know Montana Had Wineries; Seems Like Every State Does Anymore
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was following the East Fork of the Bitterroot River, and she’s quite a looker.

The Bitterroot River, A Beautiful Montana Stream
Heart 0 Comment 0
The East Fork of The Bitterroot River, Another Beautiful Montana Stream
Heart 0 Comment 0

Unfortunately, I was following the river upstream. The grade is gentle, though, at least until I head up to Chief Joseph pass tomorrow. Here’s a couple of history blurbs about Trapper Peak. Trapper Peak is supposedly back behind the sign, but I couldn't see it in the smoke.

Trapper Peak was Supposedly Back There - But I Couldn't See It Through The Smoke
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trapper Peak History
Heart 0 Comment 0

Ditto with the Bitterroot Mountains themselves. The smoke obscures what would otherwise be an impressive view.

One Can Usually See the Bitterroot Mountains From Here - But Not Today
Heart 0 Comment 0

Here’s a great idea, a cell phone pullout so folks are encouraged to not drive and talk at the same time.

A Cell Phone Pullout - But No Cell Service was Available Here!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I pulled in there, and guess what? I know you guessed it; no cell phone coverage. I hadn’t seen any cyclists in a while and was delighted to meet this group.

I Enjoyed Meeting This Group of Young Cycle Tourists
Heart 2 Comment 0

They are taking about a week-long tour and heading up to Missoula. What a great way for these young folks to see the country and build some lasting memories. Here’s my path ahead as I approached the Sula area;

My Path Ahead as I Approached Sula
Heart 0 Comment 0

I know you would be disappointed if I didn’t give you at least one wildlife pic today. Unfortunately, today's snap is not very good as this mother and fawn just wouldn’t move out so I had a clear shot.

Deer in the Woods
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m going crazy in my pursuit of fresh clean air – you know, like in the old days before the forest fires destroyed it. To make matters even worse, I can’t get this stupid song snippet out of my head and I’ve been singing it to myself all day;

"Oh my Candida,

We could make it together,

The further from here girl the better,

Where the air is fresh and clean"

I don’t know where the air is fresh and clean anymore, but it’s not “somewhere in the middle of Montana.” To make matters even worse, I have been wearing a bandana that the ACA folks gave me yesterday. I figure it may help filter out the big stuff anyway. But there are 2 problems with it; 1) it’s hard to wipe your nose with it on, and 2) every time I put it on I get this almost uncontrollable urge to rob a bank. Sometimes I start daydreaming and just sort of black out and wake up hours later not knowing where I have been or what I have done.

Turning on the local news tonight, the airwaves were buzzing with stories of the “Bandana Bicycle Bandit.” They were interviewing a security guard at the Last National Bank of Greater Montana branch office in Darby. He said “The guy had this crazed look about him. He was armed with a Swiss army knife and a water bottle full of noxious looking stuff that he said was bear urine, and he threatened to douse everyone with it if we didn’t comply with his demands. I might have been able to take him down with my pistol, but the way he was dancing around I couldn’t get off a clean shot and I was afraid he’d toss the bear urine my way. Can you imagine how hard it would be to get a full bottle of bear urine? The guy is friggin’ nuts, I don’t want to tangle with him.”

“What were his demands?” asked the reporter. The guard replied “He wanted in the bank vault. He didn’t want money or any of the valuables, he just wanted to breathe air that didn’t have smoke in it. He knew the vault air was filtered with a super-clean micro filtration system and no smoke would be in it. That’s all he wanted. He said as long as his last breath was clean air, he was willing to die for it. And I believe him, he’s crazy I tell you. And honestly, I don’t blame the guy; we all want a breath of clean air. To tell the truth, as he was leaving I went in the vault myself and breathed clean air for several minutes.”

“Did you chase him?” asked the reporter. “No,” replied the guard, “I think the clean air I breathed must have made me woozy. It must have, because I swear I saw him making his getaway on a bicycle and I know that can’t be right.”

The media is calling this guy the “Bandana Bicycle Bandit,” or “Triple B,” or even “B Cubed,” and he’s become somewhat of a Montana folk hero. It’s reported that common citizens are helping hide him, and even providing him with food and water. Everyone wants clean air, and the average citizen thinks the government is at fault for not providing it. The news story ended with this security camera picture of the Bandana Bicycle Bandit;

The Bandana Bicycle Bandit (credit; security camera footage from the Last National Bank of Darby, MT)
Heart 0 Comment 0

The guy looks vaguely familiar, but I can’t quite place him. I hope he finds clean air. It’s the government’s fault if he doesn’t, because Obama was born in Kenya, or something like that - I don't quite grasp the logic, but the backwoods folks insist it's right. Good night all, I hope you have clean air wherever you are. I’m still searching for it…

Today's ride: 81 miles (130 km)
Total: 3,313 miles (5,332 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0