Day 8 - Finished a Map! - Cross Country Velocipede Adventure - CycleBlaze

May 3, 2023

Day 8 - Finished a Map!

Catawba, VA to Dublin, VA

Picturesque settings continue.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Big problem. By the end of today’s ride, I couldn’t turn the pedals without agonizing pain. The knee pain is taking over and I’m terrified it’s going to ruin the trip. On the plus side, I’m using the set of 12 maps published by The Adventure Cycling Association and I finished the first map! Only 11 more to go.

When I woke up this morning it was pouring rain, the wind was so strong it was partially collapsing my tent and the temperature was 38 degrees. Yay! I couldn’t wait to get out and ride for 6-8 hours! At first, it really was awful. My feet and hands were numb within minutes. I immediately rode to a nearby store and had a sausage biscuit, banana and coffee. I took my time with breakfast hoping the rain would pass, but it didn’t. I decided to get started with the day despite the weather. The cold rain eventually turned to sleet/hail and the temperature dropped further. The wind was howling and of course coming straight toward me. I was struggling to maintain an 8 mph pace when my usual was around 13 (remember it’s a 100 pound touring bike). It’s so frustrating to be working that hard and barley moving forward even on the downhill sections! 

The rain let up after a couple of hours and then I only had wind and cold temperatures to deal with. Honestly, I would have much preferred the rain over the wind. 

As the climbing continued, so did my knee pain. It finally got to the point where I felt I was doing what cyclists call “Single Leg Pedaling Drills.” I was doing all the work with my right leg which of course was causing its own issues. I had intended to do many more miles than I actually completed today. I need to evaluate my situation and try to make some decisions. I should also mention that on one of the last hills, when I was in the most severe pain, a trucker decided it was in my best interest for me to hear his excellent horn. Bless his heart. I know people can get frustrated with cyclists on the road. But if the cyclist is doing their best to act as any slow-moving vehicle should by staying as far to the right as possible, then patience is key. In my case, there was nowhere to go. There was no place to pull over. Normally, if there is a place to pull over I’ll do so. Oh well. It was one driver out of hundreds of very courteous, friendly drivers.

I’m staying at a hotel tonight and am currently icing my knee, hoping for the best but fearing the worst. I also stopped by a pharmacy and picked up some Lidocaine cream. Might as well try everything. 

On a very positive note, I was able to enjoy my first humongous and delicious meal of the trip! Across the street from my hotel is an excellent Mexican restaurant called Cinco De Mayo. I’m finally able to replace most of the calories burned in a day. Not all of them. I’m burning around 4500-5000 calories per day and despite my best efforts, I’m not able to cram that much food in my body!

Not many pictures today:

Convenience store breakfast. They had fruit!
Heart 2 Comment 0
DINNER!
Heart 2 Comment 0
DINNER CONTINUED!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 408 miles (657 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0