Time shifting - France and the Low Countries - CycleBlaze

November 16, 2022

Time shifting

A rant on journaling after the fact

A month in since we returned home, I am exasperated at my slow progress in completing the journal. I remember feeling the same way on the train to Sarlat in October. At that point I was nearly a week behind and still dithering with the kludgy website I was using at the time. I admire at all of you who manage to keep up with your daily accounts. Here for any tips on how you go about it.

Learning about Cycle Blaze from Scott and Rachael Anderson in Sarlat was a hallelujah moment. I love the look and the ease of it. Weary of toiling away on my phone in the wee hours trying to keep up on the old site, I let myself off the hook. I figured we'll just take a lot of notes and pictures and move everything to CB once we got home. I was sure I could bang out the rest in short order with time, my laptop and unfettered Internet. But here we are, and there are all sorts of reasons why I am still poking along, starting with all the  entertaining CB journals I am getting lost in.

A year ago before we even planned this tour I signed up to teach a class on bicycle touring that turned out to be a few weeks after our return. Preparing for the class has been a major distraction. Still, it's been worth it for the chance to yammer on with 20 other bicycle tourists with various levels of experience about where and how we all go about it. And I had a glorious jumping-off point for the session – a bit of Rachael Anderson’s Cahors Loop video along the Lot River in southern France. Fangirling hard here, but I think hearing "Another Day in Paradise" will forever conjure up those cliffs and scenes by the river for me.

The bikes are another big source of procrastination. We've had fun getting back on the gravel bikes – my favorite wheels – with some gorgeous Indian summer days to wander the backroads around St. Louis.

I counted nine creek crossings on Callaway Fork Road west of St. Louis, two of them through the water.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Kept everything dry but my socks
Heart 4 Comment 0

The Bike Fridays continue to call our name. After being on them for a month in Europe, we better appreciate their capabilities. It was a snap to load them in the car for a late fall kayak trip, and they were great all-terrain vehicles for a gravelly ride to check out the put-in point.

My evolving philosophy of bike touring - take your bike with you everywhere
Heart 3 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonGreat philosophy!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenAbsolutely yes!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Chill path by the pond in Onondaga State Park
Heart 2 Comment 0

As pretty as it’s been here, as I pedal around I can’t help daydreaming about transporting back to wander around France. And while it seems a bit strange to write about our adventures in the present tense a month later, I find it’s the best way to put myself back there.  I just wish I had taken better notes. 

As my Mom would say, enough dilly dallying. Back to the task at hand - finishing the account of our journey. 

And to anyone who may despair of catching up on your own journals, I offer “Courage” in my best Julia Child accent.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Scott AndersonGreat post, Janice. I really sympathize. I’ve never been at all successful at trying to complete a journal so far after the fact, which is why I end up investing the time on the road, as hard as it is sometimes.

Hey, thanks for linking in Rachael’s video! It was great to have an excuse to watch it again. I’m pretty sure when I get too old or feeble to tour I’ll be pretty happy to just spin through old videos and imagine us back there again
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonI’m so glad to hear that you liked the Cahors loop video! It looks like great bicycling where you are. I sure hope we get a chance to meet up with you for longer than a few minutes sometime. You’re my kinda people!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janice BranhamTo Scott AndersonLearning that lesson the hard way Scott, but will press on. Every post I finish is satisfying no matter how long it takes.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janice BranhamTo Rachael AndersonHope so too Rachael. I'm betting the universe is on our side and it will happen.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Janice BranhamMe, too! Let us know when you head back to Europe! We are going to be in Sicily in mid March for about 5 weeks and then in Northern Italy for the rest of our 90 days.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsThere's no substitute for contemporaneous notes, at a minimum. Even if you can't get an entire day's entry posted, notes of the highlights of the day will help you remember later, when you're writing.

Highlights can be anything. What matters is to capture your thoughts and feelings in the moment. If you're including photos, key them to your notes so you know which ones you thought you might include, and in what order and context.

I carried a small notebook. It was useful not only as I reviewed my days in the evening, but also for taking notes throughout a day's ride. It was especially valuable to get the names, Instagram / email / blog information from the people I met during a day's ride.

It may be harder to keep journals current when riding in company than alone. I had very few other distractions most evenings and early mornings, so there was a window of opportunity to write.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janice BranhamTo Rachael AndersonWe'll get back to Europe eventually but have a bunch of things we want to do stateside next year. My latest crush is a tour around Idaho, Washington & Oregon. I'm deep into your Northwest Passages journal, enthralled with the pictures of the Palouse.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janice BranhamTo Keith AdamsYou're right on about the notes Keith. My handwriting is so bad I can barely make it out, so I've started recording voice notes and using Otter to transcribe them. It's a huge help, just gotta do it every day.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesDoing a blog is surprisingly costly, in time and money. For time, each evening, after Dodie has said "Sorry hun, I just have to crash" I just keep plunking away. Plunking for me means using a real keyboard, I would have no hope on anything else. The real keyboard is always a Bluetooth one, connecting to what has been a variety of devices. However I seem to break these keyboards, and I have a pile of defunct ones in my desk. If you have to go to FNAC for a replacement, they are not totally cheap and of course the keys are placed funny. Then there is internet. 30% of the time hotel internet is a screwup, so a data plan on your SIM is needed. There is a Forum topic active right now on Cycleblaze about the best and cheapest data plans for Europe. Each time out I ask myself about the blog "Am I really going to do this?" so far the answer has been yes, for two reasons: 1. The feeling that you are not alone, trying to pedal all those kms and 2. The fact that you will soon forget it all, and will appreciate reading your own words in future years.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janice BranhamSteve, you nailed it on the motivation for doing this. I'm also gaining appreciation for the discipline of writing every day, although it took me 3 weeks to finish the latest entry. I'm a slow learner and a slower writer. Thanks for the tip on data plans. I haven't dug into the forums yet, sounds like another great way to kill time ;)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago