Rest day! - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

Rest day!

Heart 1 Comment 0

Old Timer and I shared the basement living room to ourselves last night. Around 3 AM I noticed Old Timer chose to sleep on the floor rather than the couch. Both of us are sleeping on the floor, and no one is on the couch. See a problem here? I did, so I moved off the floor. The coolness of the basement put me right to sleep, but my body didn’t allow me to sleep in. I was awake by 5 AM, while Old Timer snored the morning away. “I’m just meditating” I can hear him saying. Around 7 AM, Jim snuck into our room and announced breakfast was ready. I stumbled up the stairs, waiting for my lower body to wake up. I could smell coffee brewing, as well as some delicious breakfast food smells. I walked into the kitchen and Ina was preparing a full blown meal. Knowing we would be starting the day with this beautifully presented breakfast with new friends and smelly friends brought great joy. I sipped on some stout black coffee and grapefruit juice, and quickly there after started filling my plate with breakfast staples. Raisin and wheat toast with peanut butter and homemade peach and blackberry jam, scrambled eggs with salsa, sausage links, and fresh strawberries and watermelon. It’s incredible what a homemade meal does for the soul, and muscle recovery. We discussed our plans for the day, which included trips to Wallie world (Walmart), bike shop, lunch, and Ina’s shop!

After those stops, we went out to lunch, where we were incredibly devastated when informed the ice cream machine was broken. Fortunately, a favorite bakery was just down the block, and we devoured one of the better donuts I’ve had on this trip.

After our errands, we took full advantage of the cool basement by taking siestas. I spent my time booking my flight home and writing some journals. The whole point of a rest day is just that, rest. After a while though, it’s hard to stay in one place, so we paid dues to the local community and supported a lemonade stand! While there, we slurped down some delicious ‘nade and contemplated dinner. Mexican it is!

The entrees were YUUUUGGGGEEE. Im happy with the Mexican kick we’ve been on since entering Colorado. Steve and Ina, I did not break your toilet! Talk to Jim or Old Timer about that.

We finished off the night with some fantastic cherry cream pie Patrick and I grabbed from the bakery. We were not disappointed. There’s always room for pie on this trip.

Our rest day was well spent with Steve and Ina, and I greatly thank them for their major hospitality and feeling of being home. We’ll continue our trip tomorrow well rested, and absolutely positively well fed.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0