3rd and Final Rest Day - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

3rd and Final Rest Day

Heart 0 Comment 0

STATS

Rest day, Baker City, Oregon

Distance: 7 miles around town

The last rest day I took was over 3 weeks ago. When the crew mentioned they decided on a rest day in Baker City, it wasn’t a difficult decision to make myself. I pushed high mileage through Wyoming, Montana, and parts of Idaho in order to take my time in Oregon, and that’s what I plan to do! I woke up to a hot morning sun beaming through my tent. The time was only 7 AM, so I laid awake journaling before grabbing breakfast in town. A few locals highly recommended this place called Lone Peak, so we figured we’d check it out. Top 3 best breakfasts I’ve had on this trip, hands down. Reason 1: Delicious, thick coffee in beautiful mugs; Reason 2: Beautiful plate presentation and ingredients; Reason 3: Excellent food. I ordered the Huevos Rancheros and they were fire. I ended up splitting my plate with Dex, who ordered caramel pecan french toast (also fire). We sat and enjoyed a few cups of coffee knowing we had no plans on sitting on that seat post today. We enjoyed a nice walk through town, stopping at the bike shop to pump tires and the Baker City food co-op for fresh fruits and specialty items.

After this, we strolled to city hall and played a few rounds of hearts. This was such a blast for me, and this was easily an afternoon I’ll never forget. After a couple hours, our ice cream sensors were tingling. We stopped at a sandwich/ice cream cafe and enjoyed some more grub. Naturally, I went with the espresso explosion flavor, cause coffee, coffee, and coffee. From there we strolled over to the local theatre and watched Despicable Me 3. I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, and continuously applauded the genius writing these Pixar/Disney writers employ. I also haven’t been to a movie in years, so that was pretty sweet. From there, we rolled over to the Safeway food market and purchased groceries for the coming days. At no point during the day did I even come close to saying, “Man, I wish I was out biking right now”. I could absolutely feel my legs begging for a break with so much climbing recently, and honestly I couldn’t have asked for a better day and people to have done it with. We all made out way back to our respective temporary homes, then met up for salads and pizza at a local joint. I watched as the sun set behind the crew during the meal, and thought to myself how truly fortunate I am to be hanging out with such incredible human beings. When I biked back to Gayle’s house to call it a night, I was invited in for some ice cream. Yeah, ice cream is life on a bike tour. We talked for a bit about biking things, then I excused myself because tomorrow we get back on the bike bright and early. What an excellent rest day.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0