No Warri’s, just Karri on - Two Good Blokes tackle the Munda Biddi Trail - CycleBlaze

April 8, 2024

No Warri’s, just Karri on

Walpole to Nornalup

Heart 0 Comment 0


Yesterday was a rest day and my vague intention of doing a blog didn’t materialise. After a sensational Indian meal of butter chicken and a lamb curry with mango chutney, raita and naan bread the night before we lazed around in the morning before heading to the pub in the afternoon to catch ‘Short & Curly’ a reggae/blues duo that were playing in the afternoon. They were a great act and for the first half we were the sum total of the audience. Having experienced how depressing that is during the early days of the J Waygood Band, Pete and I cheered raucously after every song. We also reassured Karen and Steve that with their talent it’s just a matter of time before they do sellout stadium tours, much like the J Waygood Band eventually did.

Heart 1 Comment 0
I’ll get my agent to talk to your agent
Heart 1 Comment 0


The evenings entertainment was watching the Paris Roubaix cycle classic with a supreme pizza. With a very friendly 7.30pm start in the west we lasted for most of the 270km race that has 29 sections of cobblestones with much associated carnage. It takes us 5 days to cover the same distance!

After a quick breakfast at the bakery we headed off into the Tingle forest with the hilliest day of the whole trip in front of us. It is again beautiful riding through the forest. There is much more birdlife now that we’re near the coast, a pleasant disturbance to the normal quiet we’ve experienced to now. It’s also noticeably cooler as well which is way more comfortable for riding.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

The first hour was spent on a widish fire road that was close to the coastline but so dense was the forest that we didn’t really see it. After a short single track we were on a beautifully smooth hard packed dirt road that wound along the Frankland river. The Tinge trees are so beautiful, with a rough dark bark and very twisty and gnarled branches. They are spectacular! 

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

There were many short sharp climbs, with some being unridable, they were so steep. The downhills were basically a brake-athon with last bit of the descent a free run to get part way up the next hill. Much like a few days ago, whilst letting it rip I bottomed out on small pothole and suddenly both tyres deflated. A double puncture! I was probably doing about 30ks and I was fishtailing like a madman but just managed not to kiss the gravel!

My front tyre was still tubeless and suffered the same fate that my back tyre did previously. My front tube ended up having 2 slashes just near the valve each about 4mm. Stupidly I only brought 2 spare tubes and Pete’s are a different size so I have to patch those slashes or I’m doing a long walk with Mondo my bike. An hour later it’s done and seems to be holding.

Heart 1 Comment 1
Lyle McLeodWhat a bummer! That's a good tough DT Swiss rim though. You could always pull the Aaron Gwin trick if you're desperate.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PUoCSzVmhhQ
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago

But within 10 minutes it starts deflating; both the tyre and my spirits. It’s not repairable so I’ve got no choice but to start pushing and find a way out to the highway to try to hitch a ride back into Walpole. Hopefully the general store has some tubes. Of course my tyres are 650mm not the usual 700mm. Not rare but less likely to be stocked. Fortuitously the main highway is only 1 kilometre away.

We reached the main road just near a small campground where a van was just pulling out. He saw us waving him down. Paul was about to drive into Walpole for a short meeting so was happy to give me a lift. Better still he’s a biker and outdoor educator and has a bag of spare tubes lying in the back, one of which is exactly what I need, although he warns me that it’s not new and might have a puncture. That’s okay as I can fix that and beggars can’t be choosers. In Walpole I do find a weird tube that was  600mm puncture resistant and was thick and heavy but should work. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

The 600mm tyre seemed to be the same size as my 650mm tubes so I’m relieved. Somewhat less relieved when I find it had a schraeder valve which is a little thicker and won’t fit through the hole in my rim. Plan B is to use the tube Paul gave me.

And yes it did have a flat. I fixed that but then found another puncture, and another and another. By the 6th puncture I gave up and tossed it in the bin. By now I was in a pretty shitty mood, probably the first time on this trip.

Tour de France shot 4
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Water with a gravelly sandy infusion
Heart 2 Comment 0

We decided to stay put right where we were at the campground and work out a plan C. On a positive note Paul was heading back into Walpole a little later in the afternoon so Pete and I pitched our tents, showered and went back with him to the big smoke to get something for dinner. With a barbecue just by our campsite dinner was a big juicy sirloin steak, potatoes and some greens and a fine Margaret river Cab Sav.
Bloody luxury!

Heart 2 Comment 0

Plan C was developed between sips of the Cab Sav. It involved me hitching into Denmark first thing tomorrow, some 45ks away where there is a bike shop and hopefully the exact tubes I need. Then I’ll hitch back and hopefully be on the road by lunchtime. Meanwhile Pete can ride to the Valley of the Giants about 5ks up the track which has a coffee shop and I’ll meet him there. Not ideal but doable as long as the bike shop has what I need. Otherwise I’m stuffed!

After dinner Chris wanders back and, on hearing my dilemma offers to drive me there first thing. What a great guy!  I’m suddenly feeling a lot better about things. 

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0


It’s a beautiful clear evening with a magnificent star show above. I’m so lucky to be doing this ride in this amazing corner of Australia.

Heart 5 Comment 2
Greg Robertswhy does this story trigger a memory of another story i heard at christmas about a dickhead and a spare innertube?
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Dennis LangleyI never said I don’t get punctures like that idiot I told you about. I just didn’t expect I’d ruin a tube and have put tubes in both tyres. Never again am I going tubeless!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago

Today's ride: 29 km (18 miles)
Total: 929 km (577 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Karen PoretBravo! Hope the tires tales are not a “bust”…
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago