We have a bike again: Florence to Verona and Munich - Poking Around Europe 3.0 - CycleBlaze

October 22, 2016

We have a bike again: Florence to Verona and Munich

We were up and on our way early to catch our high speed train from Florence to Verona. I love these trains. So quiet and fast. We were in Verona and having a cappuccino at our favourite bar in no time. After coffee Keith, delighted to be reunited with his bike went for a good ride. I went wandering around Verona, had a gelato and spent a great deal of time in the most fabulous Italian kitchen shop you can imagine.

I think Keith had the much better deal though! I met him at the appointed hour and we sipped Campari and enjoyed feeling so relaxed.

Do you see what I mean the CC had the better deal? My gelato was good, but I hadn't exactly earned it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bike picture. Because this is a biking blog.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I remind myself over and over how lucky I have been, but confess to more than a twinge of envy when I see these pictures. Mostly, I try not to think about it, because what is the point? The accident happened so I am enjoying Plan B, and being grateful (and planning next year of course).
Heart 0 Comment 0
He is on his way back into town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The reward at the end of a good bike ride. Post ride chilled white wine for Keith, and Campari spritzer for me.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We highly, highly recommend the Corso Porta Nuova 39 Bed and Breakfast. Immaculately clean, right outside the gate, great owners, I could go on and on. But do book ahead...they only have three rooms. Not only did Luca store Keith's bike when we headed to Venice, when we confirmed our return by email he wrote back to let us know the bike was doing well. He has a good sense of humour. The fact that he owns the fantastic bar downstairs, the Ostinati was a bonus. We had dinner there (yummy) and then toddled off to bed.

Just a reminder, it is a bit tricky to find! This is the only signage.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I walked to the train station in the morning. Keith rode his bike, that we have now dubbed the Surly mule. He rode slowly obviously, and did a few circles to keep me in sight, but it is the best and most fun way to move a bicycle. We had a little confusion at the train station about which car to put the bike on, as it had a reserved seat, as it were, but were helped by a great train employee who got us sorted.

It was a calm trip until Bolzano when an unbelievable number of people got on board, many of them with enough luggage to set up house. It always amazes me what people drag on holiday with them. At any rate, we had a delightful mother and daughter from Germany on one side, and four equally delightful Canadian women on the other. The five hour train ride flew by. We were both particularly impressed with the young girl (14) next to me. She spoke accentless English, was intelligent, interesting and engaging. She must get it from her Mom, who was all of the above and spoke German, English and Italian (there might have been Spanish too). On the other side, one of the Canadian women is also an avid cyclist, and we hope we have convinced her to try Europe.

It was a stunner of a trip. The chief photographer took some train window pictures. A bit blurry (200 kph will do that) but it gives you the idea.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More scenery.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just a note about the weather. One of the things that really ticks me off, I am being totally honest here, is that we have had the most remarkable weather imaginable with the exception of a few days while I was in hospital, and then I wasn't really thinking about the weather. I know it has been perfect for Plan B, but it was the best cycling weather ever, and I wasn't cycling. A pox on that I say!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Glad this engine wasn't pulling our train.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We arrived in Munich, found the hotel and went for our usual wander to orient ourselves. It is a crystal clear day and the difference in temperature between Verona and Munich was startling. The CC has declared he is actually going to wear pants tomorrow. I will believe it when I see it. There is a tremendous amount to see and do here, so much more than we will be able to cram into our two full days, but we will see what we can manage.

Wow. In the Marienplatz.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This one is for our son Brett. Now known as Nudelbrett. Sorry about that Nudelbrett!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0