Every day, a little bit better in every way: Garmisch Partenkirchen Hospital Day 8 - Poking Around Europe 3.0 - CycleBlaze

September 23, 2016

Every day, a little bit better in every way: Garmisch Partenkirchen Hospital Day 8

And the last day in hospital I hope. I am sitting in my torture chair and thought I would distract myself by writing a short progress report.

First, the face reached rock bottom and has started to improve. Stitches out today. The only bad news is now I am getting a cold sore, my bodies way of reacting to stress. Sheesh. In the striving to not scare people on the street department, Keith did his first ever pony tail for me yesterday. Not bad for a first effort and he can only improve. We have two boys, so this is an entirely new skill set for him. He muttered a bit, but he did it. Wait until I get him to blow dry my hair! I haven't dare bring that up yet.

The hip is very manageable. Tender is the word I would use to describe it, but okay. I am not walking at my usual speed, but I am walking. We will just take slow travel to a new level. I hang on to Keith's hand for dear life. First, I am still a bit dizzy, pain killers (I have a new appreciation for painkillers) I think, but I also hang on to slow him down. If I let go he reverts to automatic pilot and I have to call him back.

The shoulder is improving too. The doctor gave me a slow down lecture this morning. He recognizes a keener when he sees one. I wish I could take this torture chair with me. It is a totally awesome physio device. Sit, relax, write a blog entry while it does all the work. Keith has to take over as the chair, so that will be interesting. I got lessons from the physio this morning and know what I have to do if I want to regain a full range of motion.

The first order of business will be to get me a little rolling suitcase and some tops that button or zip up. Retail therapy! Just what a girl needs. Then on to plan B, which is not yet fully formed. No pictures...the CN has the camera. He is currently off boxing my bike to ship home. He is truly doing all the heavy lifting. I am just focusing on getting better. I am so lucky to have him. I feel truly blessed.

I must get a picture of this chair before I leave. More to come. I am sure Keith will have things to add about the bike shipping experience!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0