Patient gone wild: Last day in hospital or I am climbing out the window - Poking Around Europe 3.0 - CycleBlaze

September 25, 2016

Patient gone wild: Last day in hospital or I am climbing out the window

Really, I should feel so grateful. I have been receiving absolutely the best care here. After all, if you are going to go boom off your bike it is tremendous good luck to do it in the heart of mountain biking country. From the look of this floor, these surgeons are very practised. There is also the view out the window to be appreciated.

This is the view. I have progressed to eating meals at a little table right in front of the window that showcases this view. Pretty spectacular dining spot.
Heart 0 Comment 0

When the doctor said no to discharge on Friday I was beyond disappointed despite the view. Saturday we got permission to go for a walk so we headed to a gorge which is nearby and famous in Garmisch. I am very pleased with the walking. I can certainly feel the hip, and I am neither as quick or nimble (sounds like a nursery rhyme) as usual, but I can walk pretty darn well in my opinion. I hang on to Keith for dear life though, as if I let go he forgets and the next thing I know he is galloping ahead. So we look like quite the romantic couple.

The walk up the gorge started well, but once we were pretty much committed it became a little more, shall we say, technical. I told Keith I was a patient gone wild. I sure wasn't going to tell anyone back at the hospital where we had been! Now I was really hanging on to Keith, and he was hanging on and very protective of me. A slip or fall would have been a disaster. I was still insulted though when we stepped aside to let someone pass the slow old folks and Keith said "Go ahead, you will be faster than us" and the young man replied "I should hope so"!

Looks very manageable here don't you think? And beautiful too.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It got trickier, narrower, darker and there were tunnels. We just didn't know, and by the time we got this far it seemed better to keep going than try to turn around.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Notice my grin...happy, happy to be out for a 'walk' and my death grip on the railing, even while standing still. I wouldn't move without my big guy hanging on to me at this point, and he didn't want me to. It was just gorgeous though.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Light at the end of the tunnel, literally. May I also put in a plug for cell phone flashlights at this point please.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once out of the actual gorge there was a short walk, and this actually was a walk, uphill to a lovely terrace where I had a much needed sit down. Then we inquired about the easiest way back down, and guess what?

Our lovely drink spot, where they told us about...
Heart 0 Comment 0
The easy way down. We aren't stupid folks. We took it.
Heart 0 Comment 0

So after that escapade, when given permission for a walk today we stuck to the residential neighbourhood around the hospital. We really enjoyed that too, and I felt much less vulnerable. Keith is off at a hockey game tonight, and I am languishing in my hospital bed counting the hours until sweet freedom. Then Plan B begins. I can already tell you that the first part of plan B is to stay put in Garmisch Partenkirchen for three days while we figure out what I am capable of. That should improve every day. We were thinking of a train into Munich for Oktoberfest for a day, but given yesterday's escapade have decided that the crowds wouldn't be a good idea...not that there were crowds yesterday, but you know what I mean. For the first while, not just slow travel, but careful travel!

This just in...from the hockey game...

Wiener dog selfie. Just emailed to me by the chief navigator himself.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0