Straubing to Hofkirchen: Boxing Match and Tuna Fish - Poking Around Europe 2.0 - CycleBlaze

September 16, 2015

Straubing to Hofkirchen: Boxing Match and Tuna Fish

It is odd how what happens at the beginning of the day is hard to remember by the end of the day...there is so much going on all the time. I do remember though, that much to our astonishment today started out with a boxing match in the garden of our bed and breakfast. Keith looked out the window, and there they were. The proof will be in the picture that we are not making this up. A boxing group (team?) were staying in the B and B and having a little early morning workout. You truly never know what you will see.

Not the greatest picture as it was taken through our window, bit I really felt we needed proof. They were coming in as we were leaving and I put my dukes up. He showed me the proper way to do it, so look out!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Next up was the tuna fish. Keith had spotted two great looking roast beef sandwiches in a bakery a few days ago. I went in and checked them out and they looked yummy. Not ham yummy 😀. Keith got in line and wouldn't you know it, the lady in front of him bought one of them 😟. Still, there was one left and we stashed it in my handle bar bag for later. Well, when we dug it out to eat, the interior of my handlebar bag was a disaster. The sandwich was tuna and had leaked all over the interior of my bag. What a disappointment, in so many ways! And three days later I am still reminded every morning when I open my handlebar bag. I am not sure how long the tuna fish odour will linger, but we remain abjectly grateful to the woman who bought the other sandwich!

Once we actually got rolling we came across a bike shop where Keith had his bike checked. It wasn't shifting properly. This was the biggest bike shop we have ever seen. They took his bike right away, and now his Surly pony is very happy.

Keith's bike getting the TLC it deserves.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Biggest bike shop we have ever had the pleasure of exploring.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a great day on the Danube. Certainly the warmest so far. The forecast was for 27 C and it felt like it to me. The first 30 km went by in a blink. We had a beautiful riding surface, with no major navigational issues to slow us down. At one point, we somehow were off the Radweg, Keith said we needed to turn right (really? On a cow path through a farmer's field??) and thanks to his Galileo off line mapping we were right back on track.

Beautiful day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another great view.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The air traffic controllers were playing tic tac toe.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the interests of truth in reporting, we had a head wind today. I will admit to tucking myself shamelessly just off Keith's back wheel and drafting like crazy. When he would get away on me, and I worked hard to not let that happen, boy, could I feel the difference. So we were a tight team today. I am glad I married a big guy! I had an easy day of it, thanks to him pulling me along.

Isn't this a great place to ride. We saw a pheasant along here, but he wouldn't pose for a picture.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riding along the elevated tow path. I think this is here because of flooding.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We stopped for lunch, with a welcome addition, beer. We then rode to Deggendorf, to explore, and to eat ice cream. We met a man from Bavaria with his wife at the eis shop. We had a great conversation, and enjoyed it immensely. We decided to carry on until we felt we had enough, and find a Gasthaus in a smaller community. I was feeling I had enough before Keith, and I let my great big wind break get away. Damn! And he couldn't read my mind, so he wasn't slowing down. Fortunately there was a navigational issue, so he stopped. Unfortunately, the incredibly kind German road biker stopped to help, and then led us to the next community. I had to put on my big girl panties as I drafted behind the two of them, and we flew, at between 28 and 30 kph, fully loaded. I was not going to let our side down, and you know what? It was fun!

A welcome addition to lunch, picked up at the giant bike shop for 1 Euro.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Keith ate this apple. The last one on the tree.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nancy C., this is for you. I always think of you when I see fungi.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just so cool.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Taken from the eis shop in Deggendorf.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A church in Deggendorf.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We decided it was time to quit in Hofkirchen. We found a great Gasthaus, the Gasthof Buchner. It is so lovely and warm I am sitting outside writing this, and the owner keeps bringing me beer. No wonder I don't lose weight on our bike tours. We are right next door to the church, and we asked about the bells, which are ringing regularly, and are right outside our window. He has a key! He is going to turn them off at 10 PM. I was worried it would upset the residents of the town, but he said they don't hear them any more, so won't notice. How nice is that. We are very comfortable.

The view out our window. Those bells are close!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here is where I wrote the journal. Pretty special.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A picture of the soon to be quiet bell tower next door. Our window is on the right in the yellow building.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 km (42 miles)
Total: 866 km (538 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0