Burghausen to Salzburg: A Navigational Hiccup on a Steep Logging Road - Poking Around Europe 2.0 - CycleBlaze

September 28, 2015

Burghausen to Salzburg: A Navigational Hiccup on a Steep Logging Road

Well, if I have ever wondered how it would feel to cycle up a cliff, now I know. The chief navigator says I am not allowed to say we were lost. We weren't lost he insists, as he knew exactly where we were - but I felt like we just weren't sure how we were going to get back to civilization. I mean, by Canadian standards Austria is a small country. How could we be stuck on what appeared to be logging roads, never seeing another soul and going uphill most of the time for so long? Keith really did know where we were, and did have some idea of how to get where we wanted to be, but from my perspective, gamely following behind, often in granny gear, it seemed a long time before nirvana appeared, in the form of a highway. I almost kissed the asphalt.

It began with an eneventful exit from beautiful Burghausen. We followed the Tauern Radweg signs and Keith's trusty Galileo and were soon spinning our way along the river. Great surface, river to our right, fishermen...it was going so well. Obviously we were lulled into a false sense of security. I know in my role as 'Go This Way' I must have missed a sign, and actually if I had just looked at the map on my handlebar bag it would have been obvious. Keith too, in his role as chief navigator wasn't paying attention to his iPhone. Everything just seemed perfect.

Then the surface started to deteriorate, and then suddenly the track just ended. What?? We had gone a fair number of kilometres at this point, so rather than turn around, Keith consulted Galileo. We turned left, up the mother of all hills. On a logging road. Seriously. We just didn't realize how far it was going to be. It was a very challenging climb, to say the least. The extremely rough surface didn't help. I was so proud of me when we got to the top. Then of course, we continued to meander, still uphill, but much more gently so, until we finally emerged onto the highway. Riding that asphalt felt like riding on butter.

I could have used those wings today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A last look at the Burg in Burghausen.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Now, doesn't this look like an idyllic bike path?? Why would you look at signs, a map or a GPS when you were so obviously going the right way?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Except of course, we weren't. Here is a picture of me coming up the hill. This hill is much steeper than it looks. Pictures just don't seem to give the right perspective. My heart was pretty much popping out of my chest at this point.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Through the woods we went. For about forty five minutes, which felt infinitely longer. Although I have to confess, for some reason we both found the situation quite funny.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At this point I started walking my bike, because although it was flat (finally) the road was fresh gravel and shaped like an upside down vee. Dramatically so. I was riding very slowly on the side of the vee, and, thank goodness, with my right foot unclipped. All of a sudden, boom, both tires slid out from under me in the gravel. I got my right foot down, but ended up with my loaded bike more or less on top of me. It wasn't so much a fall as a less than graceful sit down. So I walked. I wasn't doing that twice. Shortly after that Keith turned around because he felt the other direction would be a better road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Asphalt! Glorious, glorious asphalt! We continued to climb, but at highway grades, and then had the most amazing downhill right back to the river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After that, there was no more drama. The bike route was flat, along the river and a pleasure. We stopped for tea after thirty kilometres. I was feeling the morning climb!

This was great!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Keith was packing up, turned around and saw this. He cracked me up when he said "Are you doing a Dodie?" I informed I sure was. I think I have a thing or two to learn from Dodie, of Grampies fame.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We went through Obendorf and stopped for lunch by another little trail side chapel. There were some very interesting rock formations behind the chapel. I was taking a look and was startled, to say the least, by someone looking back at me. Honestly, you never know what you are going to see.

Our lunch stop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jeepers creepers, what was he doing lurking behind the chapel? Scared the living day lights out of me. This was about six feet high.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We were in Salzburg shortly after 2 PM. We have a great spot to stay and are spending two nights. What a beautiful city. We have done a good explore this afternoon and have all day tomorrow to enjoy it. Happy Birthday to Dave W.

For my kids. This was an awesome outdoor climbing wall. Really high.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gardens in Salzburg.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We think he was proposing. It was really sweet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More love locks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Interior detail in the Dom.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Dom.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Public Art of the Day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We aren't the only ones enjoying Salzburg, and it appears we were all heading over the bridge and back to our respective hotels at the same time.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We are fed, we are watered and we are showered. We love the shower.
Heart 0 Comment 0
That little appendix at the top of today's track represents 45 minutes of primarily steep climbing in Austrian forest! Hard to believe but true.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 km (38 miles)
Total: 1,417 km (880 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0