Fat and bloated - Big Sur, bien sûr! - CycleBlaze

April 2, 2012

Fat and bloated

What do you do when you feel fat, bloated and out of shape?

In my mind there are several choices. The first is to curl up in front of the couch with a pint of chocolate Haagen Dazs ice cream, watch reruns of I Love Lucy and say "to hell with it all, what does it matter?" I must say it's tempting.

The year started with a bang. I got in a good, week long ride with the new Trucker. We bonded, we became a team, I started to get my legs back. But then the rains came. It rained. And then it rained some more. And then I got tired of RIDING in the rain and settled instead for chocolate Haagen Dazs ice cream on the couch.

But I can't keep this up. Summer is coming and I need to get in shape, and give up all of my above mentioned bad habits, except for the ice cream that is, let's not get carried away.

So I came up with a hair-brained scheme of a ride for spring break. Actually, I came up with several hair-brained schemes but this is the one I settled on in the end.

It seems strange to be excited about places I have already ridden through on a bike, but I'm excited none the less. I think the weather conditions along the coast will be clear. I hope to see fields of California poppies. I just LOVE California poppies! It's the perfect time of year for them.

I am also planning several days of places and routes I have never been, after I get past Big Sur itself.

I'm ready, the new Trucker is ready. It's time to ride!

.....well, in two days that is.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0