Day 7: How to fit a round peg in a square hole - Big Sur, bien sûr! - CycleBlaze

April 12, 2012

Day 7: How to fit a round peg in a square hole

They say it ain't over 'till the fat lady sings. Well, in my case, it ain't over 'till I get this damn bike in, well, the case.

I looked it up on the internet, the general instructions read that, and I'm paraphrasing, there are various ways to pack your bike, depending on the bike, and then they include pictures of various bikes, all packed a bit differently. Sigh

I better get started...

First things first. The Trucker needs to implode...
Heart 1 Comment 0
...that's a start...
Heart 0 Comment 0
...eeeeeew! That can't be right...
Heart 1 Comment 0
...AAAAAAAAH! My poor Trucker looks like road kill!...
Heart 0 Comment 0

Now the easy part. Putting it in the box. How hard can it be?

...that wasn't so bad...
Heart 0 Comment 0
....or maybe it goes like this? No, that can't be...
Heart 0 Comment 0
...aaaaaaaaaw, crap! That ain't going to work either!...
Heart 0 Comment 0
....it's time to call in the big guns. Time to txt Vinny, The Trucker's pediatrician...
Heart 0 Comment 0
...he didn't. But after multiple tries and several "time outs" to calm my nerves...
Heart 0 Comment 0
....TAAAAH DAAAAAAAAAH!
Heart 0 Comment 0



Though I should probably add that inside in the case, with the skeletal remains of The Trucker, was a gallon size zip-lock bag with all of the parts that I removed, that I probably wouldn't have needed to remove if I had known what I was doing at the first place.

The next day, when I arrived at Vinny's bike shop, I handed over the suitcase, with my gallon size bag of parts, including the break assemblies, all of the cables I disassembled, and other miscellaneous, yet probably important, things.

"Here you go, Vinny," I said.

He held up the bag, examined it, looked back at me, shook his head and said, "when you go to Europe this summer, I'll pack your bike."

"THAT," I said, "is a deal!"

By the way, did I mention I'm going back to Europe? Well I am. But THAT is for another journal...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0