Day 6: Calm after the storm - Big Sur, bien sûr! - CycleBlaze

April 11, 2012

Day 6: Calm after the storm

I almost camped last night. I probably should have, but I didn't. You see, I'm kind of a wimp sometimes.

So I settled for a hotel, which really wasn't much better than camping. It was a Motel 6 and didn't seem like one of the better ones, cleanness wise, but, as far as I know, at least for the time being, I survived. And it did keep me dry...

It rained pretty hard last night and the forecast for this morning was more rain but it really never materialized. After an acquitted breakfast and a large latte I set off for my last day of riding.

I can't say it was thrilling, I have covered this stretch, from the Carlsbad area to my parent's house many times, but it was a nice ride.

Pretty scenes on the beach today
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The skies (and clouds) were dramatic at times.
Look towards the middle, at that little black dot, that's a surfer.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hmmmm?
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Grateful Dog? I wonder if dogs that get groomed here come out looking like Jerry Garcia?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dramatic skies after the storm on the San Diego Hills. As a side note, look on the far lower right of the picture. I unwittingly caught what looks like a bee in mid-flight.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 280 miles (451 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0