Roquefort - Clermont-Ferrand to Biarritz 2000 - CycleBlaze

September 24, 2000

Roquefort

This was another day where we anguished over destinations.  We couldn’t see many towns at the right distance away that seemed certain to have a hotel.  On a whim I asked our hotelier if there was a hotel in Roquefort, a small town 80 km to the southwest on the outskirts of the Landes.  He gave us a guide to all of the Logis hotels and then made a reservation for us at the one in Roquefort.  It was a great comfort to know that we had lodging waiting for us at the end of the day’s ride.

At 25 km, we stopped at a read for a WC break and to enjoy the attractive views along the Basie River.  Catastrophe befell us here when I locked Rachael into the WC (a smelly, Turkish toilet variety) by closing a door on her that had a latch but no handles.  15 minutes later, after carving away enough of the wooden door with my Swiss Army knife to expose the lock mechanism, I rescued my very distressed friend and we quickly moved on.

(This is possibly our most-told travel tale of all time.  I closed the door on her after she called me over to stand guard because she’d left it open.  I misunderstood the problem and thought that she just couldn’t close the door, so I closed it for her by simply pushing it shut.  A poor choice, since there was no handle so she couldn’t reopen it.  Panic ensued while I assessed the situation, wondering how we could get assistance here on this quiet Sunday afternoon. )

It’s nice that I still have this photo of the old bridge over the Basie in Nerac. I’m sorry though that I can’t find the photo I took of the outhouse door that I ruined at the park nearby.
Heart 3 Comment 0

West of Nerac the terrain quickly leveled out as it blended into the vast pine woods of the Landes region.  For mile upon mile we pedaled down arrow-straight empty roads.  The primary enrichment to the ride came near the tiny hamlet of Losse, where a male teenaged cyclist passed us and then stayed teasingly close in front of us for about four miles before allowing us to catch up; and then engaged Rachael in a sprint race for about 100 yards.  A bit further on he stopped to visit with a friend on a motor scooter, allowing us to move ahead.  A few minutes later though, he sped past in the tow of the scooter, then thrust his arms aloft in a declaration of victory.

The race is on! I’m sorry this isn’t clearer, but it’s the best I could do back then taking a photograph while biking.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Roquefort had few compelling sights, but it did have an acceptable hotel and offered us a decent dinner.

It took me awhile to discover where this was taken. This is the Lisse Chateau, west of Nerac. It was listed on my photo log, so I looked it up.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This has to be the same chateau. It looks like they’ve removed the ivy sometime in the last 20 years.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 90 km (56 miles)
Total: 786 km (488 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0