Kefa-high-nia - Being Alive - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2022

Kefa-high-nia

Day 107 - Nydri to Fiskardo (Kefalonia, by ferry)

Fiskardo to Sami (by bike)

Whew! Kefalonia took us by surprise. It didn't hide it or anything, I was just silly enough not to look properly. Again. I guess I'll never learn. What I'm trying to say is - it's steeper than it looks.

It was also very beautiful, rugged, wild even. Lots of olive trees, more delicious smells, hundreds of goats, and one crazy descent from 700 metres to 0 in about 5 minutes.

Still enjoying ferry travel immensely. Such a novelty and great value in Greece!

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Lorenzo JaryLol sorry about the fat finger
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I'm feeling a bit disoriented by what to do next. Sarah is going home, and traveling with her has been great obviously but I don't feel well prepared to start going it alone, in what will be the most unknown part of the trip so far. I'm sure Turkey will be lovely, and very hospitable - most people say so. But it's going to be very hot, and it's huge, and I'm not sure what I'll be trying to achieve by going there. I'm thinking maybe just taking a flight from Athens somewhere less daunting might be the best move...

Today's ride: 40 km (25 miles)
Total: 3,920 km (2,434 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Scott AndersonFrom the free advice deptartment: I’d trust your instincts and take a pass on Turkey, or the Stans, or even Thailand at this time of year. It could be dangerously hot. Have you consulted a weather atlas? You might look to the north or take a break and come back in the fall.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago