A pause - Being Alive - CycleBlaze

A pause

Well, I decided to fly. Currently in Singapore airport after a not especially pleasant 11 hour flight, feeling pretty woozy, not sure I've made the right decision or not... I was pretty sure I wasn't ready to tackle Central Asia alone, but whether I'll regret not giving it a try remains to be seen. I'll try not to.

Oh well, better make the most of it! The hard part is over at least, just another 6 hours of waiting then a miniscule 2 hour hop to Phuket.

Thailand is pretty much unanimously agreed to be a great place to visit, and a good or great place for cycling, so I'm sure I'll have a great time! Even if I don't have the company of the person I love... Maybe going alone for a while will give me the confidence to go to anywhere, that I seem to lack right now...

I've been to Thailand before but only a few days in Bangkok as part of a different trip. I get a 30 day visa and I'm not sure what route I'll be taking - just heading north and going where I fancy really. Depending how much I enjoy it maybe I'll dip into Vietnam and come back for a new visa, assuming you can still do something like that with the Thai pass system, or head into Vietnam itself.

If anyone has any tips, please send them in!

Singapore airport is great, as they go. Huge, modern, clean, efficient, great facilities... Seriously, some of the bathrooms are on the level of fancy hotel lobby!

Not a great picture but there's more art, shiny black tiling, ultra modern self cleaning porcelains...
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Indoor garden
Heart 1 Comment 0
Outdoor garden
Heart 1 Comment 0
Didn't find the snooze lounge early enough 😭
Heart 1 Comment 2
Ali JarySorry to be on the back foot catching up with this bit of your blog worrying with you about what was the right thing to do ( - it’s a mother thing ) -and of course you were just getting on with it and I am only just now knowing all is well ! Sending all love and hassle free cycling fairies to take care of you ! X
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ali JarySorry to be on the back foot catching up with this bit of your blog worrying with you about what was the right thing to do ( - it’s a mother thing ) -and of course you were just getting on with it and I am only just now knowing all is well ! Sending all love and hassle free cycling fairies to take care of you ! X
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Anyway, I'm pausing this journal for now, it doesn't feel like the same trip anymore. Depending on how I feel I might reopen it later or start a new one. Thanks for following!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonThanks for sharing, and congratulations to both of you for making it to Athens. Major accomplishment! And good luck in SE Asia.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mark BinghamI enjoyed reading about your adventures. Congratulations!! Good luck in whatever you decide for your next section!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago