2012-now - Revisiting the Trip of a Lifetime - CycleBlaze

2012-now

On top of the Marina Bay Sands in Singapore
Heart 0 Comment 0

After I made that "go on vacation more often" decision, I did—in fact—go on a lot of vacations. This was helped, in part, by the structure of my work mostly being described as "hurry up and wait" and "sitting around on my butt wondering when my clients would remember that they forgot to hire me".

  • After the Great Bike Trip of 2012, I also went to Singapore for a week and a half, and Guangzhou for a week.
  • In 2013, I spent a month in Australia, and went to the US for 8 weeks
  • In 2014, I visited Thailand for a month, finally went biking in Yunnan for about 6 weeks, and went to the US.
  • In 2015, I biked from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur back to Singapore; I went to Chengdu for a week; I went sailing in France and visited Italy; I also biked from Shanghai to Sanya via Changsha and Shenzhen
  • 2016 merely saw another three month visit from my parents, a long trip to the US, and a two week bike trip near Beijing
  • But, in 2017, I was at it again starting with a month long visit from my best beloved, then a bike trip from Shanghai to Chongqing, and a two month visit to the US
  • Then, in 2018, I spent 8 weeks cycling to, from, and in Vietnam before planning this trip which was scheduled to be "from Beijing until to I get too cold" but which is now "from Beijing until the last week of November" because I will fly to Spain the first week in December.

With the exception of 3 nights in Pennsylvania (1997), 3 nights in Pennsylvania (1998), and 4 nights in New York (2014), this is everywhere I've slept while on bike tour
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonHey, we’ll be arriving in Spain in early December ourselves. Our autumn tour ends in Girona, after which we fly to Taipei. We might hook up, if it works out. Hey - you’re a translator! We could buy you a beer in exchange for teaching us a few words in Mandarin. No, not two beers, just the one. That’s my final offer.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Marian RosenbergTo Scott AndersonI think that's definitely a workable possibility. Right now all we know is "Barcelona". But, we will have 5 weeks in Spain so it will probably be more than just Barcelona. (Of course, with 5 weeks in Australia, we never managed to leave Sydeny....)
Reply to this comment
5 years ago