Day 7 Short and not sweet - BayCycle 2009 - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2009

Day 7 Short and not sweet

San Rafael to Sausalito

Nice short day today, starting out with a short ride to my aunt and uncle's place for lunch. Of course it was over a ruddy steep hill to get there. We had a nice visit, including taking in the Italian street art festival that was happening downtown.

Some art for us cycling types in San Rafael
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some of the street artists working at the festival today in San Rafael.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was up another half a hill out of San Rafael and I was on my way to Corte Madera, then Mill Valley. The Marin Bicycle Coalition has a great map and a great route system, but there is always some operator error following their signage. At least on my part. I was trying to go one way but ended up another, but was able to go with it. So I followed where it went, yet missed another turning. I knew where I was but it wasn't where I wanted to be. Lost in the wilds of Corte Madera. If I'd had it together I coulda gotten some cupcakes at a nice place there we were told about by my uncle.

This is a 30-foot high statue of Sir Francis Drake, who landed hereabouts on his world tour. Although there is much discussion about exactly where he put in.
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the left is San Quentin State Prison, one of the better known establishments in tony Marin County.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stopped to check my map in the wilds of Corte Madera and found I was near this workshop. Lots of interesting wood pieces in the yard and some things being worked on inside.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At this point I got a call from MBW. Driving around she'd missed her turnings and was also lost somewhere in Corte Madera. I got back on track, and was waiting at a light when I heard a car honking. Looked over and there was MBW waving from the car, on her way to the freeway. She was also back on track.

Went up another bleeding hill and dropped over into Mill Valley. There's a great rail trail through Mill Valley that runs all the way to Sausalito. It's a major freeway for cyclists and walkers. It runs along Richardson Bay, an offshoot of SF Bay, and is dominated by Mt Tamalpais, a North Bay landmark. MBW has always wanted to ride here, so that was today's rendezvous.

MBW on the trail in Mill Valley with Mt Tamalpais in the background. Not too much wind today, eh?
Heart 0 Comment 0

I must say that the other cyclists today, and most everyone I saw on the road today, were much less friendly than the other days of the week. Hardly anyone smiled back or anything. Must be weekend warriors intent on getting their exercise.

At the end of the trail we packed it up and headed to my sister's for the night, cupcakeless but glad to be visiting her.

Sis lives somewhere up there. I declined to ride up her road with the 12% grade.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Shadow shot.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Read MBW's blog for her take on today.

Today's ride: 19 miles (31 km)
Total: 200 miles (322 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0