Day 6 Country rooooads, take me hooome - BayCycle 2009 - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2009

Day 6 Country rooooads, take me hooome

Petaluma to San Rafael

On long rides, where you're cranking along, in a groove, enjoying yourself immensely, your mind wandering all over the place as you go on autopilot, didja ever notice how your mind always ends up wandering to yet another embarrassing moment in your life that you've still never forgiven yourself for? And you feel your face get red once again? And you come up with anything to distract yourself, even talking out loud to yourself? Me neither.

Anyway, it seems to be a theme with this tour that the morning half of the day is fabulous, and the afternoon half is "meh." Now that's planning.

Some of the homes in Petaluma are just great. Here's one grande dame. The 1906 earthquake didn't rattle Petaluma much, so there are lots of historic buildings and houses there. Its downtown was used for filming American Graffiti.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was overcast and cool again this morning, so again, perfect cycling weather. After fueling up with granola and cold pizza, which oddly enough did not sit all that well together, the day started with an 8 mile climb out of Petaluma. The road had light traffic and some kind of shoulder most of the way. The first 6 miles are gradual; the last 2 are less so. I stopped to rest a lot - I mean, take pictures. It was so beautiful.

At the top of the climb, I stopped to take in everything and perhaps to get my heart rate down. About a minute later an articulated  dump truck came chugging up the hill with a long line of cars behind it. One of the car inhabitants yelled something at me, indistinct but not positive. I took it to mean that he blamed me for the slow climb. How unjust!

This morning I took my time, lingering in the rural beauty of Sonoma and Marin counties. Cattle country. Steep hills protect gentle valleys with meandering creeks. Dark green oaks line the drainages that drop down the hills into the creeks. Lots of wide-open golden grassland on hill and valley. The wind and fog blows right in off the Pacific, shaping the hills and the trees. I love it.

Still pumping water.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Union School, just over the Marin County line, is still in operation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A portion of the McEvoy Ranch. It makes great olive oil and olive oil products, plus has nice orchards. Taken from the top of the climb out of Petaluma.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking the other way from the top of the climb: about to (almost literally) drop into Hicks Valley. Typical summer weather with marine layer clouds, breezy, cool.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Even though it was a quarter mile off my route, one must go to the Cheese Factory. For one thing, it's the first bathroom west of Petaluma. And it's also a cyclist's landmark in these parts. I stopped for the usual reasons and to fuel up some more. With that cold pizza still a lump in my belly, though, cheese didn't appeal. I wandered around taking photos of some of the art installations they're putting in now. Their gallery is open on weekends.

Another visitor to the Cheese Factory stopped by my table and asked if I'd just come from Petaluma. I said yes. He said he passed me near the top where I was resting, and that was quite a hill to ride up. I said yes, it was a good hill to rest on.

Art installation at the Cheese Factory. It's split pine or cedar.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is what West Marin weather can do to your picnic table. Only 6 weeks old. (kidding!)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chew with a view. The little black dots on the upper hillside are grazing Black Angus cattle. The oaks grow wherever there's the most water; grasses take over the rest.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There were a lot more cyclists on the back roads today. Probably because it's Friday and people might have been starting their weekends early. Maybe it's because it's such great riding along that part of my route. In any event, I dinged my little bell and lot and got a lot of grins and waves back.

Then onward to Novato Blvd, which starts at the Petaluma-Pt Reyes Road and goes all the way to US 101 and civilization. That's the "meh" portion for today. Novato was the lunch rendezvous with MBW. It's always great when we run into each other on the road, because we never know exactly where and when it will be. Such a joy to see her, every time.

After lunch at some unfortunately godawful place, I wrestled off my front fender. It's been vibrating something chronic all tour, whenever the wind was too strong for it or whenever the road was too rough for it. Enough of that. It's now in the trunk of the car.

Outside Novato, here is what remains of the Pacheco Ranch: this Italianate house and a few acres of vineyard. At my back is US 101, 6 lanes of freeway.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The sun was out after lunch, and it started to actually feel hot, especially on the uphills. I know there's a scientific reason for that, but I don't like it. I cruised through Novato, had one more little climb into Marinwood, and before I knew it, I was checking in to our hotel for the night. It wasn't even 3 o'clock and I was done! Wow! So this is what it feels like!

MBW arrived from her meanderings in the car and decided that yes, she'd like to ride around the Marin Civic Center and also stop by the home of our friend M, who lives nearby. The civic center was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and was completed after he died. The Marin County Fair is held there every year, and it's not your typical county fair. Yes, they have the midway, the fireworks, a rodeo and the animal judging and the best pies and jams and quilts, but they also have artwork and electronics and wines. And displays from some of the local companies, such as Lucasfilms.

The Frank Lloyd Wright-designed Marin Civic Center. This building houses the county offices. It's supposed to mimic the surrounding hillsides and sky.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We met Michelle, a former fellow ranger and newly-minted deputy sheriff, for dinner. She showed up with son Ben and family friend Mary. Michelle had just finished a 6-month police academy. Everyone's midlife crisis is different.

Tomorrow is more visiting but only a 10 mile or so day, depending on where MBW and I decide to ride together. We have some options, and we'll see how we feel when the time comes. However, my sister, who is our host tomorrow night, has promised to take us to a good cupcake place in Mill Valley.

Read MBW's blog for her take on today.

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 181 miles (291 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0