Resources - BayCycle 2009 - CycleBlaze

Resources

I used a lot of great maps to plan my route around the bay. I sincerely thank the organizations that provided them because they mostly were really great. I also thank them for updating them in the last year or two.

Santa Clara County: VTA Bikeways Map, Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority VTA Bikeways Map

East Bay (Alameda and Contra Costa counties): Map 1 West of the Hills, East Bay Bicycle Coalition www.ebbc.org

Solano County: Solano Bike Map

Napa County: Napa Bicycle Coalition

Sonoma County: BikeSonoma Transportation & Recreation Map www.BikeSonoma.org

Marin County: Marin Bicycle Map, Marin County Bicycle Coalition marinbike.org

San Francisco: San Francisco Bike Map, Rufus Graphics with SF Bicycle Coalition www.sfbike.org

San Mateo County: Bicycle Transportation Map of SF Peninsula (1996). Still in print and less out of date than you might think, but funny to see notes like "Bike bridge opening 1998". I found only in bike stores. By Peninsula Bicycle Coalition, now merged with Silicon Valley Bicycle Coalition bikesiliconvalley.org

Also see bicycling.511.org which has bicycle maps and mapping application, which I found a little clunky for a long distance tour like we did, but is great for mapping a commute.

And bikely.com. A few of those lovely people gave me ideas about where to go through parts of the Bay Area I was less familiar with. I plan to post my own route for this tour there.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0