There Are So Quiet Lanes Here - Quiet Country Lanes of the Bay Area - CycleBlaze

December 4, 2020

There Are So Quiet Lanes Here

If I head anywhere but towards the bay, it doesn't take long to find hills. We have lots of bumpy land between San Francisco Bay and the Pacific Ocean. Something to do with a couple of geologic plates crunching up against each other at the San Andreas Fault system. Today I headed uphill for a short ride and to show you yes we really do have some quiet lanes - or in this case pathways - in this neck of the woods.

The neighboring town of Los Altos Hills has a nice network of pathways that are meant for horses, but they're also good for walking and cycling. (I think there might be a requirement that you must add to the network when you build within town limits. Most folks don't have a problem budgeting for the additional work.) There's one particular path that I like I haven't ridden on in a year or so, so off we went to get reacquainted.

I started out in basic suburbia, but the higher I went the larger the house lots and the more sinuous the roads. I did a basic out-and-back because I was running out of daylight and my lights were running out of juice.

Heart 0 Comment 0

 

Ah, flatland suburbia. This is a relatively new cut across an arterial's median that makes crossing it much safer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A community farm stand in Los Altos Hills. Not much there except for a few bags of nuts.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauFarm stands in my neck of the woods just have stuff like corn and tomatoes and squash and green peppers. Sometimes honey and firewood and chili peppers. Rarely nuts of any kind. Never any books. Never any wooden clogs. Any farm stand with books is my kind of place.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kathleen JonesTo Gregory GarceauI agree about the books. I had no idea about the books until I stopped and saw the steps and door. It was tempting to just hang out there. It's a pretty nice spot. I guess all the vegetable gardens were tapped out by this time. I would like to see all those things in Hastings sold here too.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Inside is a pretty big community free library.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A quiet country lane. Only about a dozen cars passed me as I rode up this way. Please also notice that the angle is upwards.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I've always loved this little shack and its site.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I got off the road (which is just to the right) and started on the Packard Pathway. Yes, that Packard.
Heart 2 Comment 0
On the Packard Pathway.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A hole in the trail, 1.75in tire for scale. Note that the opening is lined with spider web. Tarantulas do this, but maybe other species too? It's late in the season for tarantula love.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The path runs between the Packard estate and Permanente Creek. Most of the estate is covered with an apricot orchard. Apricots were a very big crop here back in the day. The house is called Taafe House and is used by the Packard Foundation. Must be spectacular views of the bay.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Quiet country lane. So fun.
Heart 3 Comment 0
More apricots on a different parcel. If you look at the aerial view on the map you'll see three large spreads with orchards. I suspect they were once all part of the same estate but divvied up for the family members.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Relics of past farms. Notice how the wire fencing wraps around the tree trunk. I love industrial and agricultural archaeology.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sun is getting a little low. Hmmm.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I had to share the trail. Sigh. The path drops pretty steeply here and there - I've learned which direction to go on it - and is a fun trike ride over the bumps and gullies and twists.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was heading back down the hill to home when I decided to finally check out another trail. I've ridden past this a gazillion times. Goes behind a bunch of nice homes. On the right is a freeway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The path took me back to the road I'd just come down. I lost traction on the last 10 feet of much steepness. Those are my skid marks as I slowly backed down to where I could safely get off and push the trike.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Told ya there were horses around here. The horse on the right decided to be spooked by the trike and kept jogging around. The horse on the left did whatever the horse on the right did.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 14 miles (23 km)
Total: 52 miles (84 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0