Thursday, Jun 5: MUC - YYZ - YTS and a Drive to YCN: Go. Wait. Go. Wait. Go. Go. Home. - Achtung Baby: Bavaria with a GPS & Some Great Canadian Gear (Tour 13) - 2014 🇩🇪 🇦🇹 🇨🇭 - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2014

Thursday, Jun 5: MUC - YYZ - YTS and a Drive to YCN: Go. Wait. Go. Wait. Go. Go. Home.

I had arranged for the shuttle at 10 am. Kevin came along but Tom stayed back as his flight was not until tomorrow. It was a beautiful day so the ride to the airport was pleasant. I quickly found the left luggage where I continued to pack my things. Most were in with the bike, either in one of the panniers or rack bag, or in bags that were tied to the bike. The pannier and rack bag were zip tied to the bike just to make sure they would arrive home.

I had to wait a while until the Air Canada counter opened. Then had a bit of running around to do. I checked in on ground level (#3) then gave the bike over to bulky baggage, then up to level four to pay the 40 Euro to transport the bike. Then back down to the first counter to show the girl I had paid and then she could give me my boarding pass. Now with only one really light pannier, I wandered around the airport.

I wandered down the halls. Looked out to the bus areas. To the numerous shops. Had my last weissbier at the Airhof restaurant where I chatted with a US couple - he had been in the Ironman Triathlons in the early 80's. Very cool.

The AC plane AC847 left a little bit late from G42. The staff on board were really great so made the flight pleasant. In YYZ I decided to spend a few hours in the Priority Lounge - pretty good food, good wifi, and comfy chairs in a quiet room. My YYZ to YTS flight was a wee bit late and I just slept all the way along. Very long day.

Thankfully, Mom and Dad were right there. My bike box showed up in perfect shape (thank you Air Canada, you did a good job). The ride home was pleasant... and I was DONE.

Munich airport looking out to the planes at the gates.
Heart 0 Comment 0
So cool to have what looks like a brewing kettle right in the airport concourse.
Heart 0 Comment 0
End of another journey. Journeys cross. "When to the sessions of sweet silent thought..." Of journeys to come? Stay tuned.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0