Sunday, May 25: Murnau am Staffelsee - Bad Tolz: The last sunny day ever, it would seem. - Achtung Baby: Bavaria with a GPS & Some Great Canadian Gear (Tour 13) - 2014 🇩🇪 🇦🇹 🇨🇭 - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2014

Sunday, May 25: Murnau am Staffelsee - Bad Tolz: The last sunny day ever, it would seem.

RAIN is in the forecast, so I will enjoy an h20-less day today.

Breakfast included a linzertorte-type of cookie so I was in heaven. I adore linzertorte. An additional sandwich, bowl of yogourt and fruit and I was out packing the bike and on my way. Out past the brauhof, and north out of town. The field crickets serenaded me, as did the cattle and fuzzy sheep. Rolling hills with the alps in the distance to the south. In other words, another beautiful day for cycling.

Having heard about Mrs. Aileen Carter's death a few days ago, I stopped at a small path-side chapel to have a moment of reflection and a few thoughts for Mrs. Carter and her family. I first knew her about 30 years ago when she hired me to paint part of her house. A very special lady who will be missed by many.

As I rode, the headwind started to pick up and became rather strong... as predicted in one book I read. Furthermore, the route got quite hilly so even though this was a short ride in distance, I was glad to reach the city. And a beautiful one it is. The route came down across the river with views up into the old cobblestoned centre where I soon proceeded to climb. Again, the gps did not fail me, and having enetered the gps coordinates of the Hotel Ristorante Milano, here I got and here I am.

The room was not prepared so I enjoyed the outdoor patio on a nice, though cool, sunny Sunday morning. Wrote more of my journal, and gave thought as to whether I would walk the city or watch the Monaco F1 race first.

Things worked out great. A chunk of schweinfleisch mit potato und helles. No cabbitch. Now about to watch the F1 race which is taking place only 780 km from where I sit this very moment.

What a way to start out the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Seeing the bike beside the church I almost made a u-turn to head back and attend church that Sunday morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped here for a quiet moment in memory of Mrs. Aileen Carter.
Heart 0 Comment 0
What fond memories this sign brings back. Back in 2005 I walked and in 2003 cycled the Camino de Santiago in Spain. Today I followed (in reverse) one of the routes that lead to the pilgrimage city of Santiago de Compostela.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gathering ideas for the grapes grown back home.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Arrival to the old part of Bad Tolz. My hotel is up to the right though not visible in this shot.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My relaxing lunch spot. I had a local helles (light-coloured) beer, pork, salad, potatoes and a dumpling. And savoured every bite.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another shot of my lunch spot though I ate in the courtyard rather than indoors, as did most people. You see, though it is late May / early-June there are no mosquitoes to drive you indoors.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the many shops that sell traditional Bavarian clothing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The old town centres tend to have the traditional old-style wrought iron signage.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old town Bad Tolz. Many of the buildings have very elaborate decorations and scenes painted on them. The artists are very good with perspective as most of the work appears three dimensional.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It is always cool to see how various shops around the world take pride in setting up their window displays.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just down from my hotel is this nice seating area just outside another restaurant. Many people were heading there for lunch.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 33 km (20 miles)
Total: 346 km (215 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0