Mondetta Paves the way to a Very Canadian Presence: Canadian Olympic Curling (GOLD that is!!!!) Jersey Takes on Two Wheels - Achtung Baby: Bavaria with a GPS & Some Great Canadian Gear (Tour 13) - 2014 🇩🇪 🇦🇹 🇨🇭 - CycleBlaze

March 4, 2014

Mondetta Paves the way to a Very Canadian Presence: Canadian Olympic Curling (GOLD that is!!!!) Jersey Takes on Two Wheels

I wish to thank Mondetta for allowing me to show off my Canadian spirit while cycling in Bavaria and on future tours. They have graciously allowed me to acquire one of these jerseys (NOTE: Not a freebie).

As soon as I have the actual jersey, I will post a photo here. I have requested one of the long sleeve jerseys in the third colour combo which is gray and black. When I saw the Canadian men's curling team win Olympic gold in February 2014, I just caught a glimpse of the Mondetta logo. Quick as can be I called Mondetta - they were as excited as me after the TWO curling gold medals - and after a few phone calls and e-mails I arranged for one of the jerseys. It seems to me that the material is similar to a cycling jersey except there are no rear pockets... for bananas, ipods or granola bars. That is fine for me as I NEVER use the pockets. Once I have done this tour I will report back as to whether or not the material is suitable for a cycle tour. Something tells me YES!! Photo from Mondetta's website.
Heart 0 Comment 0

My apologies to the official Canadian cycling team jerseys, but there is something about the pale blue that simply does not grab me. As long as I have toured (since 1986) I have been searching for the perfect jersey that shows off my country in style.

And now I have found the perfect jersey. This jersey's style is IT for me. That being said, it is a curling jersey, but from appearances, very similar to the standard lycra jersey. I look forward to sporting it through the hills and dales of Switzerland, Germany and Austria.

Note to self... I wonder if I should learn to yodel 'O Canada'...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0