Friday, May 23: Immenstadt - Fussen: Green meadows in the rain and a Konig's Schloss - Achtung Baby: Bavaria with a GPS & Some Great Canadian Gear (Tour 13) - 2014 🇩🇪 🇦🇹 🇨🇭 - CycleBlaze

May 23, 2014

Friday, May 23: Immenstadt - Fussen: Green meadows in the rain and a Konig's Schloss

AS much as yesterday deteriorated, today was about improving.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful so I ate it all. Rain was slightly sprinkling down but with my cool looking fenders I was only slightly damp. Though there were rolling hills, the strong wind was at my back. Closer to Fussen, the path followed along a lake then meandered through pine forests. Beautiful. The rain got heavier as I got to the hostel so once I had checked in I called home then to my sister to let them know I was still alive.

I decided to seek out Neuschwanstein Castle, and it was a beautiful ride out of town. After 4 or 5 km there was the meadow I am sure they used for the mat in the Amazing Race... with the castle up on the hill. At the base of the mountain were loads of tourists. Then I had the crazy idea to cycle up the steep hill to the castle gates. Long. Steep. Hot. Worth it, oh ya. Views down to the meadows and lakes were fabulous. The rolling back down cramped my hands they were on the brakes so much. But I did it.

A quiet afternoon, I stopped in the Old Town for a Bavarian helles beer. Still not my fave, though I won't run around screaming it aloud here. The day got cloudier and was supposed to drift towards more rain, so I returned to my room to rest for another tough day tomorrow.

My breakfast table in the hotel in Immenstadt. Feeling much better than I did yesterday, I was able to eat a lot of breakfast. Meats, cheeses, bread rolls and a boiled egg. Good energy for the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
As I neared Fussen I had the option to cycle the path alongside the lake. Very beautiful and it could only have been slightly better if the sun was shining.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of my first glimpses of the castle. I had not realized it was several km from town but when I came to the 'Amazing Race' field and saw the castle, I was pretty impressed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I can never get enough photos of castles and fortresses on hilltops.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I decided to cycle the long steep climb up to the castle. It was like a self-challenge when I saw how steep it was and that most were taking the easy way out and taking horse-drawn wagons to the top. I made it the whole way without stopping and it was a workout but not all that bad after a few days of cycling.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from the 'village' below the castle is spectacular across the farmer's fields and to the lakes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here is the 'easy' way that many people use to get up to the castle. Mind you, even the people walking up were looking pretty tired.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the main streets in old town Fussen. Lots of people have photos of this exact street.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had to sample some of the local beer so went in to the bierhall to get one, then sat at the tables in the street to watch the people go by.
Heart 0 Comment 0
So simple and yet so attractive. A door. A few plants. A table and chairs and the oh-so-Euro chalked sign of fare within.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the entrance of the hostel in Fussen just waiting for it to open at 5 pm.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 256 km (159 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0