A quick trip north before the start. - Baja ramble - CycleBlaze

A quick trip north before the start.

Heading to Flag to see Kathy and Bruce.

Finally going closer to talking off! I Planned a quick run up the hill to visit my good friends Kathy and Bruce.  I’ve lived all over Arizona but I’ve lived in Flagstaff twice and other than Florida where I grew up Flagstaff always feels like home. If it wasn’t for snow and cold I’d live here but I cannot do the cold!

After a rough night that had me up at 3am with a migraine I decided to drive up to Phoenix in the wee hours of the morning. 

I had to scour the city for an open drug store, greasy breakfasts, and gas.  Once I got those needs taken care of I headed over to the bike path in Scottsdale to stretch my legs and go for a ride.

Great path. The sun rises so late on the mainland it was almost 8 pm before the trail was nice and fully lit by the sun.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Waterfront cycling in Tempe…who knew. Oddly enough this is the site where I first sailed a boat which later sailing turned into one of my life’s passions.
Heart 1 Comment 0
3 wild coyotes in the park!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some more last minute shopping at REI. The problem with these spur of the moment trips is I always get stuck paying for retail for all my trips.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Made it to Flagstaff and had a nice plate of chili rellanos to warm me up.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A quick walk around a rest stop right before Flagstaff.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Made it to Sunny Flagstaff to see Bruce and Kathy. Kathy is a former coworker at the NAU book store. But her and her husband Bruce are more like family to me.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Interesting view of the water tank right next to the house. When there is a forest fire the helicopters pick up water from these tanks.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
So cozy. Maybe all my future adventures need to include a comfy bed. I was envious of my neighbors in the desert that were snug in their custom vans.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0