Day 14: Santa Rosalia to Mulege - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 11, 2014

Day 14: Santa Rosalia to Mulege

Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke up at 3 am last night with a raging hunger. I guess my ramen noodles weren't enough dinner. I fixed some oatmeal and heated tortillas over the stove and felt better after that. I wanted to sleep in because I had a short day today, but the sunlight leaking under the door had me up before 7:30. The sun here feels different. Much more intense.

The ride to Mulege was not particularly interesting. Almost boring, in fact. For most of the ride the water was too far away to participate in the scenery and the vegetation was kind of "meh" after what I had become accustomed to. That is not to say it didn't have some dynamite sights, they just weren't in your face all the time. I cranked up the tunes and explored the insides of my skull for a while and rolled into Mulege in the early afternoon.

I like this town... it is full of old buildings that are being used for normal purposes.

Prison with a view (for the guards, anyway). A sign said handicrafts for sale, so I rode up the gate and got past the first set of bars. A really buff inmate sold me a keychain and cloth bracelet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The touch of rasta comes to me courtesy of an unnamed inmate
Heart 0 Comment 0
Watering the dirt, to keep the dust down I presume
Heart 0 Comment 0
Isla San Marcos
Heart 0 Comment 0
I slipped into San Bruno for lunch, but none was to be found. I had some crackers by the shore.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The elementary school was in session
Heart 0 Comment 0
Remy was deeply interested in what I was doing. After a couple of minutes I asked "Shouldn't you get back to the group, won't the teacher get mad at you?". "Oh, she will. She always does."
Heart 0 Comment 0
Monkey and Ape hanging out in San Bruno
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crazy descent into Mulege. Those are always fun.
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Why does it say Herioc Mulege?" "That's the way it's called"
Heart 0 Comment 0
A and I stayed here in August 2009. Much cooler this time.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I always feel so intellectual when I share my space with the ghosts of poets.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the little plaza across from my hotel they were playing Mexican Christmas songs and making paper mache decorations.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mulege street scenes, taken on my walk to dinner and back.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The darker bricks at the bottom reveal the high water mark from the hurricane
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Let sleeping dogs lie
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 656 miles (1,056 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0