Day 15: Mulege to Playa Buenaventura - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 13, 2014

Day 15: Mulege to Playa Buenaventura

Heart 0 Comment 0

The next town after Mulege is Loreto, which I could reach in a full day but it would mean not spending any time along Bahia Concepcion. Bahia Concepcion is another of the jewels of Baja, and even though I no longer had any illusions about the glamour of camping next to the trans-peninsular highway, this was one opportunity not to be missed.

I had a leisurely ride along the coast, and got to Playa Buenaventura about 1:30 in the afternoon. I joined the three Americans sitting at the bar and, after ensuring that I could indeed camp there, had a few myself. It was a lazy afternoon, sipping beer and sitting on the beach contemplating nothing at all.

The night was long and noisy, but I expected that. What made it so worthwhile was all the stars! The temperature was perfect, not too cool and not too warm, and I sat for the longest time staring up at the Milky Way. Nice.

The one ATM in Mulege was broken, so I wasn't able to refresh my supply of pesos as planned. This was all my cash until Loreto, so for the first time on this trip I was going to have to pay attention to prices. I know, I know, first world problem. But it's the only problem I have, so I have to make the most if it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look back at the river leaving Mulege
Heart 0 Comment 0
Select woods for sale, next to a carpenter shop
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've had several incidents of being chased by dogs and have adapted the strategy of letting out a roar and snarl of my own. It usually gives them pause and then I can generally shoo them away. In this case I just stopped and laughed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Playa Santispac, the first of the beaches along Bahia Concepcion. I swam out to that island once, and in 2009 A and took a panga out there and snorkeled around it. This time I just stood on the beach.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
bike and bay
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some beaches are less developed than others
Heart 0 Comment 0
The banner that dominates this picture of the cafe where I took a break is part of Tecate's "it's easy to be a man" ad campaign and reads "A man shares with his friends" Unless he's alone, and then he drinks both. Burp.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Making myself at home at Playa Buenaventura
Heart 0 Comment 0
Done for the day
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 682 miles (1,098 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0