Day 1: San Diego to Tecate - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

November 28, 2014

Day 1: San Diego to Tecate

Heart 0 Comment 0
It was too dark for a starting photo when I left my house a little after 5 am. This was taken a few hours into the ride, just before starting down the hill into Santee.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Santee street art?
Heart 0 Comment 0
A nice bike path takes you from Santee to El Cajon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heading east on Highway 94 after a lunch break in Jamul
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some boulders that caught my eye
Heart 0 Comment 0
I walked down to the fence to take the boulder picture, and on the way back I saw this really nice bike that caught my eye as well.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dulzura, California. I had hoped to take a break here, but this was the only establishment that was open.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Immigration checkpoint for north bound travelers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I did not expect to see this!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Descending into Barrett Junction. The last climb of the day is visible snaking up the other side.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped here for iced tea and right wing conversation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Barrett Junction Cafe
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yes, please.
Heart 0 Comment 0
First view of Mexico!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I popped in at the cousin's to change some dollars before going across.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I paid 306 pesos (about $22) for a 6 month visa, ran my bags through the X-ray machine and found myself on the streets of Tecate.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There is a very steep hill leading from the border crossing down to Tecate proper. I didn't want to ride down it without knowing where I was headed, so I looked around for a hotel on the border. The Okakopa at $32 will do just fine. Hot shower, firm mattress and wifi.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had hoped to spend some time people watching in the plaza. However, it is all boarded up and undergoing massive renovation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Peeking through the fence. This place used to be charming, I'll have to come back after the renovations are complete.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Extensive research has revealed that the best carne asada street tacos in Mexico are to be had right here. I headed over for dinner.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is one reason why I'm doing this trip!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 61 miles (98 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0