DAY 40: Newton to Eureka: "What this state lacks in diverse scenery, it makes up for in hospitality" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2016

DAY 40: Newton to Eureka: "What this state lacks in diverse scenery, it makes up for in hospitality"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 76.75

Average Speed: 11.9 mph

Maximum Speed: 23.6 mph

Last night I started to break out in hives, be it from the cat in the house or some unfriendly pollen in the air. No matter. I popped a benadryl and called it a night.

Well as a result I woke up at 9am, much later than normal. Orville and Janet took me out to breakfast at "The Breadbasket," a local eatery, where I gorged on all the carbs, coffee, and fruit a man could ever want. They were such gracious hosts, and gave me my first taste of true Midwestern hospitality. Thank you so much for the stay!

Janet and one of her adopted kids (Orville had left by the time I was able to snap a picture).
Heart 0 Comment 0

I left their place and went to the famous Newton Bike Shop to have my front brakes and chain inspected, both of which I figured needed to be replaced. They did.

The shop caters to the countless touring cyclists that come through town. They even have a hostel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Everyone that comes through has to sign their wall. I was happy to.
Heart 0 Comment 0

While waiting for my repairs, I bought a pair of cycling gloves to try and mediate the numbness I've been getting recently in my hands. I also checked the weather, and learned that the town I was hoping to stay in, Eureka, was hit last night by an F2 tornado. I called ahead to Robyn, who's number I was given by a westbound cyclist, to see about staying at a place she opens up to cyclists. She was happy to have me, so with my bike all fixed, I worriedly marched on towards Eureka, hoping that the good weather would stay. It wasn't clear if it would.

The tornado that hit Wureka the previous night. Luckily no one was injured or killed, but there was widespread damage. Note: I did not take this picture.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Since I got such a late start and had such a filling breakfast, I pushed myself hard to get to Eureka. I stopped briefly at a house to ask to refill my water, and was warmly welcomed to do so by an old Mennonite couple.

I fought headwinds the whole day, and it appears I'm slated to do so throughout the rest of the week. The scenery had become gradually more rolling the further east I've gone. I've been told by passing riders that this is a mild taste for what is to come in the Ozarks of Missouri.

At one point, I realized I was being foolish worrying about the weather. I stopped and looked around, seeing nothing but blue sky and lovely clouds.

Horses set against a big, billowy Kansas sky. I liked this view very much.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More rolling hills. These are the Flint Hills of southeastern Kansas.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A turtle I found on the side of the road. He was feeling a little camera sky and decided to stay inside his little home.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once in Eureka, I met up with Robin, who gave me directions to an empty rental property that she opens to cyclists. I rode over, and we ate dinner together. She provided me with a shower, laundry, bed, fully stocked kitchen, a postcard to send out, and AIR CONDITIONING (!). After eating dinner together, she let me be and went back to her own home. I still cannot believe the true goodwill that people are showing me.

The good-hearted and gracious Robyn.
Heart 0 Comment 0

With my belly full and my body clean, I slipped into my sheets and called it a day, and a good one at that.

Today's ride: 77 miles (124 km)
Total: 2,728 miles (4,390 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0