Day 17: Lolo Hot Springs to Missoula: "A rest day in name only" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2016

Day 17: Lolo Hot Springs to Missoula: "A rest day in name only"

DAILY STATS:

Mileage: 52.69

Average Speed: 12.1mph

Maximum Speed: 36.7mph

I woke up to literally everything coated in frost. Water bottles were frozen, as were hands, feet, and face. I waited a long time for things to thaw out, and then departed with Dan and his family to Missoula.

EVERYTHING WAS SO COLD.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nope. Nope. Nope.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The skies cleared on the way into town!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Must be entering big sky country.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We made it downtown, where we visited the Adventure Cycling Association's headquarters. Here, I got my free ice cream, and got my Polaroid picture taken (a tradition for bike tourists). They also have you guess the weight of your gear and bike. Mine was 83 pounds, a little more than I originally thought.

They put these up all around their office. It's pretty neat.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After visiting the ACA, I had to resupply on some foods and bike equipment. In the midst of biking around town, I broke a spoke. So, it looks like I'll have to be in town tomorrow for a little longer than I'd like.

So, I was pretty exhausted and cold from the past few days. But I had a warm place to stay for the evening, and fellow cyclists to talk to. And life was good.

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 1,052 miles (1,693 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0