Day 4: Tuesday 20 June 2023 - Nogent-sur-Seine to Auxerre - Brighton to Barcelona by bike - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2023

Day 4: Tuesday 20 June 2023 - Nogent-sur-Seine to Auxerre

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

planned route 92km https://ridewithgps.com/routes/42604230

I slept exceptionally badly, awake several times in the night and unable to get back to sleep. Eventually, got up around six.

Great hotel and a good breakfast.  I was concerned about my aches and pains from the previous day, and although suffering no muscle tiredness, as soon as I got on the bike, I had the same pain in my left side.  I think this is due to weakness on the left side of the body, meaning I slump sideways as I'm cycling. This somehow makes me get cramp in my left foot.  Cathy and Dave have the patience of a saint, putting up with my slow speed, and after 21K I decided that I was just simply too fatigued, and jumped in the van for a stretch, promptly falling asleep.  We stopped at another town and had a decent lunch for once, and I decided to attempt continuing from there. It was hard going, but I managed another 22 km to finish the day.

Off the bike, I immediately felt significantly better, and a nice shower and nap set me up well for the evening.  We went for a communal Chinese buffet, which is rarely good in France but was surprisingly okay.

The next two evenings, I have to be back in good time for some work related video calls, so it is possible. I may have to cut the day short, assuming that is I managed to even achieve that. I have to make a serious effort at stretching exercises to overcome the movement and balance in my body.  Impressed that, so many of my teammates with Parkinson's, and without are able to put in the mileage every day with a smile on their face.

Tomorrow, it's not particularly long, at 88 KM, but with over 1000 m of climbing, it is not going to be an easy ride.  Watch this space!

Today's photographs are almost exclusively of the team arriving at a view point where I was joining the van

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 km (27 miles)
Total: 376 km (233 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0