The Grand Plan - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

The Grand Plan

Dear Readers

Here, I am relaxing and doing the blog in comfort in Singapore.

Heart 2 Comment 1
Ian DouglasEverything looks clean and well maintained.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

It would be a pity to end the blog so abruptly and so here are my intentions.

I will do THREE more entries as follows:

First, I will do an entry for our time in Singapore, from where we depart on Sunday night. I'm intending to get a bike box, fold it up, toss it on my bike and ride to the airport perhaps on Saturday. There I will dismantle my bike and place it in one of the lockers they have.

Second, I will do an entry for my time in Sydney, where I intend to spend two or three days. It sounds as though our friend, John, will meet me at the airport so that we can cycle the few km to his place together. With his permission, I will unveil this fine contributor to the blog.

Finally, to further ease back into a Masakan Padang-free life, I intend to cycle home from Sydney. It's about 300 km and I'm just going to do it in a leisurely three days. That will see me pass 10,000 km for this ride and take me to where it all started early on May Day, 2023.

Heart 9 Comment 1
stav zotalisCongratulations Ian on your incredible journey and great generosity! much gratitude from all of us at indigo foundation
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Peter BrownWell done. I've enjoyed reading this on a morning before getting out of bed. Quite the epic. I've run into problems when I've tried to comment so I hope this works.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Graham SmithIan congrats not only on the ride but on the journal. You may have noticed that your first journal here on CB is now ranked 4th most popular of over 1000 journals. That’s lots of hearts ❤️.

Old mate Vince’s (from Campbell) is still the 2nd most popular. I attribute this to his unloaded bike being even heavier than yours.

Anyway I’m proclaiming Inner North Canberra as the Cycle Tour Journal Hotspot of the Globe thanks to you and Vince.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
John GrantExcellent Wal. I'm SO pleased you're settling into Singapore with Cora. You, of course, have my full permission for any inclusions.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo Peter BrownDear Pete
Thanks so much and terrific hearing from you. I meant to say, a few weeks ago, that I enjoyed your blog. Ian
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, looking forward to that photo of us on our bikes in Sydney. Ian
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham, thanks again for your support and contributions to the blog. I look forward to catching up. Ian
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian DouglasIan/Robin, it being a while since the end-of-financial-year-and-he’s done-Flores boom: an indigo donation LINK would facilitate completion bonuses.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jackie LaycockCongratulations Ian W. on an amazing adventure and thank you for sharing it with us all
@Ian Douglas here is the link: https://great-indigo-bike-ride.raisely.com/
Reply to this comment
7 months ago