Day 98 - I didn't reach Pangandaran but I did find Paradise. - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2023

Day 98 - I didn't reach Pangandaran but I did find Paradise.

It's easy to gauge from "blog love" that readers want things cheery - smiling faces among a bunch of pretty pics. Unfortunately, there are days that just don't fit that mould for the touring cyclist. Instead, they are mournful, like the broadcast from the mosque that I can hear now. My day was like that, more or less, from the start. I feel better than yesterday but I'm not quite right.

Some of my difficulties relate to food. I want to cycle with a full gut. I had a poor meal last night. I wanted hot food but that wasn't available nearby. Instead, I had the cold rice, cold tofu, cold egg, cold vegetable option, that I've been eating most days but try to avoid at dinner. I want food to say hello to smoking oil at the bottom of a wok! Breakfast was problematic too. Hotel Karaoke didn't have karaoke so it's not surprising that it didn't offer breakfast. I ate a stack of biscuits, a few bananas and a couple of mandarins. That's a snack, not breakfast. I set off with the fuel tank hovering around empty. This is not good on a Sunday, when many warungs tend to be closed of a morning.

I saw a bunch of cyclists today and one group early on made me smile. A little later, I saw more women doing aerobics.

Heart 6 Comment 0
They smiled too.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I knew I had hills and I knew they were steep, but nothing could ever prepare me for the four spikes ahead. The action started straight after a bridge.

Most bridges over substantial waterways attract a bunch of fishermen. I hope to see a fish caught before I finish the ride.
Heart 6 Comment 1
John GrantI've heard the pleasure is in the fishing and the catching is a bonus but I think I'd be looking for a quieter place unless I was flat out hauling them out of the water from that bridge Ian
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

One thing was definite - there was no point even trying to cycle up some stretches. I'm sure that anyone who has toured a lot has been in this predicament. If there's two of you it's easy: push one bike up and return for the second. Well, I'm alone. It was hard work and I could wring sweat from my shirt from the moment I started ascending. Also, the road was rough so descents were tough.  But, the scenery was nice. It was classic "minor road syndrome". After two hours I had done 15 km.

Heart 5 Comment 1
John GrantCertainly hard work Wal !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 1
John GrantWe grow our food on some bloody hard country in Australia !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
Getting ready to celebrate Indonesian independence - 78 years on August 17.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I finally got over the spikes and onto flat road, at another river, of course.

That's the ocean!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 1
John Grant"What colour is YOUR boat ?"
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

 Unfortunately, the road for 20 km or so was patchwork and I just didn't roll and nor did I see a suitable warung. I ate more bananas and biscuits and pushed on to near Cilicap. 

The workers in the paddy look so insignificant compared with the distant power station.
Heart 5 Comment 1
John GrantAnd unfortunately they are . . .
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

I managed to find a warung that would cook a nasi goreng, near the turnoff to Pangandaran. I had a good feed, cups of tea and coffee and pondered my next move. Should I go the short distance to Cilicap and call it a day after 75 km. Alternatively, I could try to reach the Paradise Hotel that's 47 km away on the way to Pangandaran. I chose the latter because I'd at least have the climbing done. Unfortunately, I made a small error in navigation and when I thought I should be at Paradise, I was seven km short. 

It was a pleasant enough ride that climbed gently through a teak plantation to a plateau. The road was excellent and I made good time.

Heart 6 Comment 0
It wasn't all attractive!
Heart 5 Comment 0
The plateau with expanses of rice at all stages of production.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A group of children in a paddy field were flying this kite.
Heart 5 Comment 1
John GrantA universal pleasure !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Every school seems to have murals.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Not every mural is at a school!
Heart 3 Comment 0
I watched this game for a while. The standard was excellent; the pitch was like this morning's road!
Heart 4 Comment 0
I was running a little late today.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Eventually, I found Hotel Paradise and it's fitting of the name - clean, tea and coffee and breakfast included, a/c, etc. They even use a trike to deliver supplies to rooms.

Yesterday's hundred was free. Today's was anything but. It was a hard day in the saddle.

Heart 4 Comment 0

But that's not my bike of the day. I was taken by this purveyor of porridge.

Such a brilliant hat for someone who sells porridge.
Heart 6 Comment 1
John GrantI'm pondering if porridge sellers in Indonesia have a higher standing than I've experienced ?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 126 km (78 miles)
Total: 7,176 km (4,456 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Graham SmithIan riding almost 130 km on a day when you are still unwell is above and beyond the call of duty. You should ask your boss for some extra sick leave, or contact the cycle tourers’ union.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham, the union have been fighting this for ages. They want a dedicated hostel every 10 km in countries where you cannot camp. Ian
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Graham SmithTo Ian WallisIan it’s the additional daily tailwind & downhill allowances the cycle touring bosses have been fighting hardest.

I’m thinking a general strike by hardworking cycle tourers (and the Friday Peloton) at the nearest beachside warung would sway the negotiations in a favourable direction.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago