Day 91 - Solo surprises, a boring ride and Prambanan - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

July 30, 2023

Day 91 - Solo surprises, a boring ride and Prambanan

 I was beautifully organized this morning  - up early, raking stuff from all over my room, packing it, loading the bike, coffee, and away by 7.30. There was one glitch - I had not eaten and I don't exercise without first eating. I'd rather the feeling of a full gut I rode down the road, as you do, and turned right onto Jalan Dokter Rajiman Widiodiningrat (say it out loud; I'd pay a lot to live there) and got the surprise of my life.

Jalan Dokter Rajiman Widiodiningrat - last night. It's the main road where I photographed the parked motorcycles.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Jalan Dokter Rajiman Widiodiningrat - this morning!
Heart 5 Comment 0

How dare you Solo, Surakarta, whoever you are; you have delayed me already! It's not hard to find food in Indonesia and it gets even easier when there's any kind of event. In no time I had half a dozen plump spring rolls, stuffed with mushrooms and agreeably greasy. I wanted fuel.

Of course, I then hung around to consume both the spring rolls and the scene. I soon learnt that JDRW is closed until 9 on Sundays. 

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
I can hear the C-word ringing in my ears.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 3
John GrantIf you're going to perform, you might as well dress up !
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantYes, how good is this fellow? Better still, he could play; his hands danced all over that instrument.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
John GrantI'm glad you saw (and heard him) Ian
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

What a terrific surprise! People of all ages enjoying a stroll or a bicycle ride or just a little quiet, albeit for just a few hours. Then you put your bike away and count down the time until Sunday arrives again. I had quite a smile when I weaved through the crowd, turned left, and then right heading to Yogyakarta. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

I'm not going to pretend that there was much pleasant about the ride, although I'm convinced that it's much better on a Sunday. This may explain why I saw a few bunches of cyclists. Being on a divided road has its advantages, one being that you don't need to watch as attentively for overtaking vehicles coming towards you. But a disadvantage was that us cyclists could do little more than wave across the divide.

It was mostly much busier than this photo implies.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Tiles were the highlight; I like tiles, especially when they're stacked.
Heart 5 Comment 5
Daisy IrawanIt is clay roofs 😃
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Daisy IrawanYes, same all over the world. We call them roof tiles. Ian
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
John GrantI suppose their carbon footprint would be smaller than corregated iron if they're produced locally but they take a bit of structure to hold them up !
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, there's no shortage of iron, especially on cheaper housing. It may well be, as you say, that it takes little to support iron.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
John GrantIan, I think house roofing materials (and colour) are a matter for face to face discussion when you get back.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

I did a quick 55 km stopping only at traffic lights - red lights when the locals stopped. When I did stop for a decent break, it was as much to get my bearings as it was for food.  I knew that Prambanan, the Hindu temple complex, was on the way to Yogyakarta. Well, I got my second surprise of the day when, siting in a restaurant, I discovered that I was in Prambanan! I had done my day's cycling. 

I found somewhere to stay and walked the couple of km to the site that dates from the 9th century, when Java was a Hindu Kingdom. What remains is a fraction of what once stood. These structures don't fare well in earthquakes, including the 2006 shake. Much has been written about Prambanan. Here's a brief  photographic tour from my very nice afternoon. 

Heart 4 Comment 0
The "No Smoking" is a cracker! I could add a few others, but they wouldn't be polite.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Graham SmithIan years ago an Indonesian friend helpfully explained to me that interpretation of such signs in Indonesia is very literal.

For example, that sign means ‘No Smoking’ (or guns, dogs, drugs etc) in the area immediately under that sign. So locals understand that the sign’s directive only applies right next to or under the sign. Say within 1 metre of the sign. Anywhere else the directive doesn’t apply.

Same rule for STOP signs at intersections. Only stop if you are directly under the sign. It’s a free-for-all in the rest of the intersection.

(My friend has the characteristic Indonesian sense of humour.)
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithThat's brilliant. I've a good mind to return to Prambanan for some climbing.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Graham SmithTo Ian WallisCorrect.
Just don’t climb on the sign which says ‘No Climbing’. Anywhere else is fair game.

(But don’t blame me if you end up in yet another police station.)
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
There are three temples in the main Courtyard. The central one - Candi Shiva Mahadeva is 47 m tall and is flanked by Candi Visnu and Candi Brahma, both 33 m. Originally, four rings each of 240 small temples, guarded the main structures.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Shiva flanked by Visnu and Brahma
Heart 4 Comment 0
Candi Shiva Mahadeva, along with the others, is lavishly carved and contains four inner sanctums at its base.
Heart 5 Comment 3
John GrantGreat photo Ian !
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, I don't find photos easy to take with a phone. But, I am impressed with the result. If only they had a viewfinder.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
John GrantYes Ian. It's a whole new mindset to take the photo first then do the necessary adjustments afterwards. I'm sure there'd be software (apps) out there to give better results than the phone's inbuilt program
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
The walls of an inner sanctum; now we're getting abstract.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantThey certainly knew how to build a temple. Stone carving must have been an honorable trade.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

No visit to a Hindu temple is complete without a little time with Nandi, the sacred bull of the God, Shiva, and Ganesha, the remover of obstacles and the offspring of Shiva and his consort, Parvati.

The sacred bull, Nandi. Clearly, Bos indicus.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Ganesha; if you touch her trunk it will turn black!
Heart 5 Comment 0
There you go, we've done our bit!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Now, can you spot where grubby little hands have fondled this deity?
Heart 4 Comment 0

The sanctums house other deities.

Surya being dragged by seven horses, one for each day of the week.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Candra being dragged by ten horses, one for each month. The metric Hindu calendar clearly preceded our imperial calendar.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Prambanan is also a terrific place for jigsaw enthusiasts, especially those used to dealing with missing pieces. It's also a place to hone your language skills, something I could well do with.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

I sat back on the western side enjoying the changing light and left as Prambanan was closing.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 2
John GrantTime well spent Ian. Thanks for the photos.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, appreciate your comments.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

As I walked back, I spotted this school and admired its colour and shapes. It gave me the urge to find a dinner that matched, you know, like wine and food.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

And so I leave you with a bicycle for the day, a tangle, I must admit.

Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 6,867 km (4,264 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0