Day 81 - What's hard about bicycle touring? - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

July 20, 2023

Day 81 - What's hard about bicycle touring?

Last time I was in Ubud, 35 years ago, there were few cars and far fewer motocycles. The World had 3 billion fewer people, co2 concentrations were 70 ppm below today's and smart phones were years away. They were terrific times.

I had decided to have another day in Ubud so that I could wander with a camera and make some photos - you know, full-format, shutter speeds, f-stops, ISO, viewfinder. I was out in the early light spotting stuff, none of which I can show here, because the images are RAW and large.

But, what I can tell you is that Ubud thrives on the wellness industry. I'm never sure what happens in a wellness centre or a spa, so don't ask me about "organic spas" - something to do with carbon? Compost, perhaps?

I was back soon after 9 feeling somewhat hollow. Now look at this breakfast that came with my room.

Fruit salad!
Heart 7 Comment 3
John GrantSuch a great sense of the aesthetic !
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, so simple but the look- astounding! Food photos can be tedious but these weren't.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
John GrantVery true Ian
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
A simple banana pancake!
Heart 5 Comment 0

Unfortunately, I received not-so-good news: the guesthouse is fully booked so I must move. I left my things and went for a walk and eventually found something. It's not a patch on last night's. I wheeled my bike 0.11 km and it's counting!

I discovered last night, when I went to renew my visa online, that I could not do it. Of course, it requires a code and the code went to my phone that's somewhere in Timor Leste. I contacted Cora who tried and failed from home. The internet is full of people suffering this misery - visa about to expire, simple online renewal, payment fails, system jams. By day's end that was me. I had at least got an Indonesian phone number that I linked to a card. I've sent an email to the help at imigrasi. I doubt I'll hear back. Life was so much easier ...................I can beat hills, heat, wind, humidity, no accommodation, and, it seems, even garbage, noise, smoking and the ferry service of Homo floresiensis. But I fear phones, passwords, codes and the like. Guess, I'm not leaving Ubud anytime soon. Here are some photos.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Plumbing 101 - water pressure.
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantIt makes for a lovely shower ! Again, not big on the cross bracing !
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantThey've a long history of making things beautiful !
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 1
Ian DouglasMy Scottish friend swears by hot stune massages.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Washing my gear here will prevent a sore arse!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Peanuts for gado gado.
Heart 5 Comment 3
John GrantVery neat in his pestling. I'd say he's had a bit of practice
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, I couldn't help but watch; I couldn't fault his technique. He was at my guesthouse and it was nice that he was pestling for a purpose - the family meal, and not for tourists. My eyes pop out of my head wandering around here.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
John GrantIan, I'm so glad to see you taking interest and delight in the unfamiliar.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Can the "Brilliance Centre" deal with phone stress?
Heart 4 Comment 2
Florence SofieldTry a psychic reading Ian!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Florence SofieldFlorence, good idea! But there were too many choices and so I chose nothing.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ubud's problem - Thursday midday.
Heart 4 Comment 0
There's so much help on this noticeboard. I might return and find help in renewing a visa.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I went out to the buffet again (I may as well prepare for cycling) and, on returning, discovered that Cora had succeeded with a visa. This was after I devised a plan to try in the morning and, if unsuccessful, get an airticket. How can this system exist?

Heart 6 Comment 0

Tomorrow, 1500 m of climbing - a dead easy day.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Graham SmithWell done Cora on the visa process.

If that hadn’t worked, is there an office, consulate or border post in Denpasar which could physically issue a visa? Surely there must be numerous other tourists who lose access to phones and accounts.

When I was taking groups to Java, we’d fly from Sydney via Denpasar airport where the passport control & customs stuff was done fairly efficiently, then we’d catch a domestic flight to Jakarta.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham, Sure, there is but it's the tourist's responsibility to have a visa. The reason for not going to an immigration office is that they take your passport for a few days. It's simpler to fly out and fly back in. But, there's no excuse for them not getting the website working - test, test and test again, in different places, different browsers, different internet speeds. Ian
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jackie Laycockglad you got your visa sorted Ian, Keep travelling safely
Reply to this comment
9 months ago