Day 73 - A ferry ride to Sape, Sumbawa - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2023

Day 73 - A ferry ride to Sape, Sumbawa

I ate a fine breakfast on the deck at Pesona Bali guesthouse while staring down on the port, where two ferries lay waiting. I'd be on one in a couple of hours for the trip to Sape, Sumbawa. 

The blue one is it.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Graham SmithIan it looks Indigo on my screen.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

On one hand I was nervous because it's the same company that does the Kupang to Larantuka run. Why am I back for more? Am I a mere glutton for punishment? The simple answer is that there's a company that "bridges the nation". Take it or fly. 

I'm ecstatic that they don't build bridges. That would be terrifying.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Abdul was there to greet me and guide me through the ticketing process. What a champion! Send him to Kupang!

With Abdul, who lives on an island with his wife and seven children, the youngest 4-year-old twins. He wanted to be an English teacher but there wasn't the money.
Heart 4 Comment 0

By the time I pushed my bike on board, among trucks loaded with bananas or dried fish and squeezed it past a Kubota harvester and jammed it between motorcycles, the car deck was full to the point of blocking the steps to the cabin. But there was another option in precarious steps of reo welded to the boat. It was a difficult climb with luggage as you squeezed past hydraulics oozing grease. If that's what it takes to bridge the nation then so be it.

Simple game - spot the bike. Winner gets a banana and a dried fish.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Ian DouglasDo dried fish smell?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian DouglasYes, but of the most potent perfume.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Greeting the passenger entering the smoke filled cabin was a mass of humanity, many who had secured a spot on the long bunk reminiscent of a Scottish bothie. Others were content with the corridors. There was no access to the deck although a crewman assured me a hatch would open soon.

A photo just doesn't do it! You must be there.
Heart 4 Comment 0

When it did open, I together with a few tourists, including Graham from Port Stephen's, found paradise. A roof protected the area of hard seating, there were plants and even a tray of drying fish. Paradise, indeed!

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was pretty much a case of sailing past one island after another until we reached Sumbawa. It was a windy day with brooding skies.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Sumbawa
Heart 4 Comment 0
The destination - Sape Harbour, Sumbawa.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Now, the ferry may have docked but that doesn't mean that you will be on your way anytime soon. Roll on - Roll off ferries are a good idea in the right hands. But they fail miserably when I'm park vehicles sidewards to use all available floor space. Vehicles and passengers disembarking from the same point doesn't help.

Yes, that really is a Kubota harvester with tracks!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Just after I alighted the sun appeared for a moment and threw beautiful light onto the Harbour.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I found my dream accommodation just up the road. The first place I tried was waiting for a water delivery. The second was fine. It even has an arrow on the ceiling.

Travel insurance is one thing; a sleeping sheet is another!
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 2 km (1 miles)
Total: 5,500 km (3,416 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Jackie LaycockI knew that you had reached another island, because Graham had made another donation to your fundraising page. Thanks you Graham and Thank you Ian!!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Graham SmithTo Jackie LaycockHi Jackie, when I learned that Indonesia has 18,110 islands and islets, and about 6,000 of them are inhabited, I thought I’d need to check my savings account. :)
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jackie LaycockTo Graham Smith I wonder how many of them Ian can hit on his journey?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago