Day 32 - and on to Katherine - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2023

Day 32 - and on to Katherine

And so, a pinch and a punch........The last time I said that was the day I left home. It's the first day of winter but you wouldn't know it here.

Mataranka Manor Caravan Park was a fine place to stay - live music, bar, vibrant, a few interesting people and good camping all for $15.

I didn't rush out this morning and instead pedalled out at 8.30. After all, I intended going only to Katherine 104 km away. A sign a little later indicated 107 km! Another sign indicated a rest area in 59 km- that's something to aim for. I got there in one go, stopping only for photos. Conditions were good - hot with a slight tailwind, but sometimes hard when the air was smoky.

No better way of saying "I hate the planet". What's the answer?
Heart 2 Comment 0

Here's something a little more pleasant. The colour of the mounds changed quickly today; a good way of tracking the soil.

Today's mound. A km further and they were back to red.
Heart 2 Comment 2
John GrantDid the vegetation change with the soil ?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisJohn, yes, just like that general change in eastern Australia with stringybarks on the ridges and smooth-barked eucalypts in gullies.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

And here's something I found remarkable.

Look and you will see - remarkable tree anatomy that I have seen just a few times
Heart 2 Comment 4
Graham SmithSometimes unusual tree features such as that are the result of humans manipulating branches when the trees are saplings. To make a sign or marker trees. As a way of marking clan boundaries, direction marker, or some other living ‘signage’ of a significant location.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
John GrantIt's a rare feature indeed
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, yes, I haven't seen it often; spotted gums, Corymbia maculata most often. But I don't recall anything this good.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham
That might be so but these are relatively young trees. I'm tempted to give it a go some place - Mt Ainslie perhaps.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I hadn't gone much further when I spotted the first buffalo of the trip. The adults were terrified of a cyclist, or at least this one. In contrast, nothing on the road could frighten this juvenile.

A young Asian water buffalo. I expect to see many more.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The rest area was pleasant in all respects. I poured down a litre of orange juice mixed with water and gorged on biscuits, scroggin and chocolate that was liquid yesterday. Some people from a caravan asked where I was going. When I said Katherine they advised against it - there's a lot of crime and you're pretty vulnerable on a bike.

I crossed the King River and looked down and saw Pandanus. It is getting tropical, I thought. I also saw a pheasant coucal which, like its relatives, has one testicle.

The King River south of Katherine
Heart 2 Comment 0

I raced along and before I knew it was on the outskirts of Katherine and there was a hay field. 

I took a photo to check that I wasn't hallucinating
Heart 2 Comment 2
John GrantDad's mate who's north of Julia Creek makes thousands of round bales of Mitchell grass hay every year. The northern pastoralists are manipulating things more and more. They buy their mineral supplements by the road train load.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, you're a fountain of information. I did not know this.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

And then I arrived. It felt something of a landmark I'd been aiming at.

Heart 2 Comment 0
But has Cadel ridden from Canberra to his birthplace? I'm not playing anything with the glasses; I can't see the screen with the polarisers!
Heart 2 Comment 0

And then the most exciting thing since Mount Isa, about 1300 km back. I like these things, regardless of where they have been or their colour. I don't discriminate!

Heart 2 Comment 0

I rode past a police station that resembled a palace, found a supermarket, chatted to the locals outside and then left my bike while I shopped. All good!

Today's ride: 111 km (69 miles)
Total: 3,922 km (2,436 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0